Texture

These are especially for Marlea:

20120417-081822.jpg

They are PaleOMG Double Chocole Energy Bites.

I followed the recipe exactly except for two things:

thing1: I used grind-it-yourself almond butter. The consisency made it impossible to make balls until after I added a few tablespoons of water to hold it together.

thing2: I mixed in the coconut flakes by hand at the end with the chocolate chips. This may or may not have been on purpose 😉

They turned out SUPER delicious! They are rich chocolatey–not too sugary sweet. I liked them best when eaten cold. They were hard to roll into balls, so I ended up smashing 90% of them into my tablespoon and making “bosu balls/half moons” out of them. You really don’t want them to be much bigger than that. Unfortunately, I’ve eaten almost the whole batch of them by myself in a matter of about 4 days. To bring this into perspective, let me just say that they contain a CUP of almond butter. lol, I’m ridiculous. But ohwell, they are an awesome dessert, and they work great for breakfast along with a chicken sausage. #lazygirlproblems.

20120417-081830.jpg

The weather has been really nice lately. Cool nights have made for some pretty morning fog.

20120417-081840.jpg

Lucky me. I get to see a lot it because I’m out driving around for my early morning pump class.

Okay so here’s a big SURPRISE! I cooked some grassfed BEEF. Me. Ex-vegetarian red meat phobe extraordinaire.

Tex-Mex Hash Breakfast Casserole

20120418-100307.jpg

The only thing it’s missing is cheese, but it still turned out pretty darn good.

So yeah. I guess I’m officially an omnivore again. I had eaten some jerky in paleokits and even had some burgers that my mom fixed. But actually cooking the stuff myself–epic. I haven’t cooked beef in my entire life until now. I’m getting pretty old, so that is saying something! I’m not sure what to do with myself, honestly.

Just don’t try to get me to eat pork.

Today I will be doing Helen. And eating paleo.

And trying to decide if I should buy myself a pair of innovs.

Eenie meenie miney mo.

 [WTF did I use a hashtag earlier?]

15 thoughts on “Texture

  1. Marlea April 18, 2012 / 4:00 pm

    Texture!

  2. polkadotrunner April 18, 2012 / 4:44 pm

    I almost SCREAAMED when I saw that picture of the pigs! LOL!!!

  3. robfiasco May 10, 2012 / 6:43 pm

    i have those shoes! i love them!

    • fabulousinfayetteville May 10, 2012 / 7:20 pm

      Which ones??? I just bought the barefoot innovs, they were on sale! I love em! 🙂

      • robfiasco May 10, 2012 / 7:27 pm

        i bought the inov8 f-lite 195. kinda pricey for me but oh well! haha. plus I look sharp at the gym. can’t go wrong there. 🙂

      • fabulousinfayetteville May 11, 2012 / 1:42 pm

        They’re marked down on zappos.com right now 🙂 I’m definitely buying those next!

      • robfiasco May 11, 2012 / 1:45 pm

        crap! that’s where I bought mine!!! figures…..

      • fabulousinfayetteville May 11, 2012 / 1:47 pm

        ack! go figure… lol, ohwell if you need a second pair, dooo it.

      • robfiasco May 11, 2012 / 2:08 pm

        hahaha hopefully one pair is enough for now…. i essentially bought them for Crossfit but there’s no boxes anywhere near me 😦

      • fabulousinfayetteville May 11, 2012 / 2:20 pm

        really?! that stinks… keep checking, though, they are popping up all over the place.

      • robfiasco May 11, 2012 / 2:43 pm

        that comment totally didn’t go where I wanted it to. oops!

  4. robfiasco May 11, 2012 / 2:42 pm

    this place is about 10 years behind the rest of the country. they just got their first 24 hour gym a year ago. haha. i’ll be back in Texas soon enough where they actually have more than one starbucks! 🙂

Leave a comment