3-Year Bloggiversary!

People say it all the time: good form come before everything else. Well I forgot that the other night as I was attempting a new heavy back squat PR. I was in the mood to lift heavy, so I loaded my current “max” weight into the bar. 285#. I got it, but barely. So I added 5 more lbs just so I could try for a new PR. That ended up being stupid. All was going well until I felt my back round on the way up… and pushed through it. It was kinda scary, but  I felt like I was okay so I did the rest of the day’s WOD with wallballs and pull-ups. The next day I felt like I got it by a train! Ugh. My mid back feels like a giant stiff bruise. Lesson learned. Next time it starts to round, I will bail.

Oh! I forgot to mention this last time I blogged, but it marked my three-year bloggiversary :)

Let’s have a trip down memory lane, shall we? A LOT has happened in the past three years since I started this blog.

I won a wakeboarding competition. Flew in airplanes by myself. Got my first apartment. Competed in a national adventure race, went on like 20 terrible dates, ran the fastest marathon I’ve ever run. Watched my sister get married, got certified to teach Group Kick, quit my job at World Gym, started CrossFit, completed a GoRuck Challenge.  Fell in love. Perfected paleo pancakes.

Here are some (tiny) photos from when I first started this thing.

This guy is still my favorite bestie:

20110314-021736

I used to drink quite a bit. I don’t even think I was totally aware of it at the time, but looking back it’s pretty clear. Especially from when I first started blogging. I was a bit “on tilt”.  And I never went through that “drinking” phase during college, so I got it out of the way afterwards instead apparently. Right now I probably drink once a month or less.

20110126-025814

Also I used to straighten my hair all the time. And I was a lot smaller in the shouders. :( I miss fitting into certain coats and sweaters.20110211-104409

I had epic hair at my sister’s wedding.

20110614-082508

Oh well. Fast forward to present-day. A lot of things haven’t changed! I am still completely obsessed with cupcakes. I love Bliss. <3 Zach’s box:20140129-092513.jpg

Here are the two I brought home:20140129-092521.jpgThat cookie-dough one is high on my list to try soon!

It has been stupid-cold here lately. So I made some chili.

20140129-092537.jpg

This is what happens when you try to be “healthy” at Red Robin.20140129-092544.jpgI accidentally ate a bunch of fried as an appetizer though.

Today I’m back to my “typical” lunch, though:20140129-092603.jpg

I have a sinus infection and a cough. And I’ve had it for two weeks. SO annoying. I’ve been obsessed with my neti pot, Afrin, and those little equate sudafed knockoffs. They don’t work at all… but Afrin nose spray does.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

