Valentine’s Day <3

I’m going to be all chronological. Because it’s appropriate. How novel of me.

Brad and I have experimented with adding some rice into the diet. Pretty sure most of the carbs we eat have been coming from either sweet potatoes or cheat days. This stir fry recipe is from Practical Paleo. OMnomnom.20140217-095036.jpg

20140217-095044.jpg

And lasagna is becoming a big staple. It’s super satisfying, but not exactly the epitome of a clean paleo diet. It’s got gluten-free lasagna sheets and grass fed cheese. It’s primal soul food? Maybe not the healthiest–what do you think? Does the paleo diet rob people of the appropriate macronutrient ratios?20140217-095107.jpg

Let’s talk Valentine’s Day!

I went all out at Fresh Market! They had this awesome deal with a dinner for two and a dozen roses. 20140217-095116.jpg

I chose strawberry salad (against caesar salad), asparagus, and chilean seabass (against steaks), and it came with chocolate dipped strawberries! YUM!20140217-095123.jpg

20140217-095137.jpgWhy don’t we eat seabass more often? OMG. yum.20140217-095143.jpg

20140217-095149.jpg

 

20140217-095155.jpg

My wonderful Valentine got us tickets to see Chicago at the WAC. I saw it when I was 12, but I can’t wait to see it again now that I’m old enough to follow the story and understand the adult humor :)

So yeah. Seabass. It wasn’t a huge cheat meal, but it definitely was a good pre-competition meal. Pre competition?! Yes! We went to Springfield, MO on Saturday for the 3rd annual Couples Challenge to benefit Cherish Kids. We competed against 17 other (badass) couples in the RX division. We did everything from heavy front squats to handstand walks. With a team “Jackie” workout, and a partner burpee extravaganza!

20140217-095224.jpg

We ended up placing 13th–there was some VERY stiff competition. But it was a lot of fun :)

20140217-095230.jpg

I have done a lot of crossfit competitions, and at almost every one of them I have encountered some standards sketchiness that left a bad taste in my mouth. I try to turn a blind eye, but the “bucking” hand stand walks that some teams did would have made Dave Castro ashamed. We might have come in 14th in that workout, but considering we could go exactly zero feet a month ago–going nearly 100 feet in that workout was a HUGE victory. And we both covered some of the longest distance we’ve ever covered! I intend to continue to work on this new skill ;)

2 responses

Leave a Reply

