Accidental Hiatus!

I’m pretty sure I just disappeared for a whole month! woops. So I guess a few things are going on. The open is upon us! WOD 14.1 is the same was 11.1 which was 10 minutes of 30 double unders and 15 snatches 75/55lbs. I did it, but I struggled with it. I completed 310 reps, which isn’t a bad score at all, and for the first time ever I am *NOT* redoing an open WOD. Crazy right? It’s due tonight at 7, and I’m all iced in sleeted in. I thought I’d re-do it, but I’m glad for the ice. I don’t need to do it again. I could possibly do another 35 reps, but that would be it. Not worth the stress though.

Life has been a little stressful. Aside from the open going on, I was dog sitting for my parents when their oldest dog Breanie (who has had a coughing problem for years, he is a small breed dog and they are very susceptible to suffering from a collapsing trachea) had a pretty serious attack. I took him to the vet and they gave him some shots to help with inflammation and help him relax, but on the way home he couldn’t breathe. So I franctically turned around and ran him back to the vet where they quickly put him on oxygen. Apparently his condition only got worse, because they ended up making the call to put him down.20140303-121333.jpg

 

I felt absolutely terrible. My parents left him with me and within 24 hours he was gone forever. It’s been a week now and I still am having trouble sleeping. I guess I’m lucky that I haven’t been exposed to something this traumatizing before, but it’s probably something that never gets easy. Don’t get me wrong, it was probably his time. He was 16 years old and had been having to eat special food for years. I just hate that I was the one taking care of him when it happened.

I’m done being depressing. Here’s some FOOD!

20140303-121353.jpg

We’ve been eating a lot of these paleo waffles from PaleOMG. I can’t believe I’ve lived this long without owning a waffle maker.

20140303-121402.jpg

Chorizo meatballs on mashed cauliflower with sweet potato wedges.  Look at me go?! Three different recipes all in one meal!20140303-121415.jpg

Brad made us surf and turf! And I didn’t swell up from eating the lobster, so that was a plus. Ha!20140303-121423.jpg

He made a garlic butter dipping sauce for us and its was RIDICULOUS! And it was kerrygold butter. So there.

Vietnamese zoodles stir fry again:20140303-121440.jpg

And for a sweet snack and my first time making anything with chia seeds:20140303-121449.jpg

PaleOMG’s overnight chocolate coffee chia pudding.

I have a big confession. I’ve totally been using sugar to deal with stress.20140303-121513.jpgBut this stuff is incredible.

And these cute little mini shakes from outback steakhouse.20140303-121603.jpg

And my favorite treat of all! the cupcake.20140303-121625.jpgI gotta clean up the diet. I’m pretty sure I say that all the time, though. But whatever. I can just try to steer towards less sugar while simultaneously trying to keep myself calm during the open and deal with the loss of Breanie.

8 responses

  1. Sorry about Breanie. He was loved a lot and lived a long time. No other dog could have lived a happier or more pampered life. He was lucky.

  2. I’m so sorry for your loss. It’s not easy, especially losing an pet. You and your family will be in my thoughts and prayers.

Leave a Reply

