Aerophobia

Ok so I have had some issues blogging from my phone. I don’t know why, but wordpress app is being wonky. I typed my password in wrong and it only gave me one chance… So yeah. Time to reinstall?

I got to visit my girls in Dallas this weekend, and it was a blast! It just went by too fast… Since it’s super hot, I opted to fly instead of driving–and flying was actually pretty cheap. Ever since i was about 13, I have slowly and surely develop a serious fear of flying. Which is extremely frustrating, because I really love to travel.

I woke up at 3:30 AM on Saturday morning to drive to Tulsa (about 2 hours) to be 90 minutes early for my flight (which I later found out is only SEMI unnecessary). I got a speeding ticket in Siloam Springs because I was going 57 in a 45. That stupid billboard was flashing in my face and making me crazy, so I sped past it. Given my luck, the one other car on the road happened to be a cop. He smelled like cigarettes and was missing some teeth. I didn’t like him at all.

Finally, I got to the airport and sat in my terminal for 100,000 years. They kept it about 50 degrees in there. Finally when I got on the plane, I was so frozen with fear that I was unable to even whip out my phone to take pictures. We were only at 22,000 feet, so It was a good first flight. Thankfully the businessman next to me put aside his antisocial ways to chat with me and help calm down my anxiety. He was going to Zurich that day. Which is really cool.

Now about Dallas: Ikea, North Park, Galleria, and Grapevine Malls! We were so exhausted that we forewent our fancy dinner plans and opted to go to the nearest mexican restaurant. Tex-mex is SO different. The cheesedip was yellow instead of white! We were like “what the heck? yellow???” But the food was pretty decent.

The next day, Marlea adopted a new frenchie:

Her name is Mattie. Fatty Matty whose farts are SUPER stinky.

It’s been 3 days, and I swear I still have some of that farty stink stuck in my nose!

Just randomly throwing this in here too:

 

I’m pretty sure this is a lunar moth. It was actually really big, but you can’t tell form this picture. It was almost the size of my hand. That’s just how my apartment is. You never know what creatures are waiting outside your door. I usuall just have “daddy long legs” out there, but I have also seen various types of spiders, roaches, beetles, and one time a centipede ran into my living room at 5:00am. I had to murder it, which was really disturbing… moving on.

 

The flight back to Tulsa:

Yay! Look at me, I’m taking pictures! So I actually almost missed this flight. It boarded at 7:10 and departed at 7:40. I arrived to the airport at about 7:12, where a computer told me I was too late to check in. So after a small panic attack of walking in circles talking to myself, I decided to wait in line and beg the staff to let me through security. She gave me a boarding pass for a 10:00pm flight. I took it and ran. I knew the gate of the flight I wanted because I had looked it up online beforehand. I gave my boarding pass to the woman who was scanning them. I told her I had the wrong boarding pass, and she told me I couldn’t fly on this plane. So I went to the other line and stood. I came to a man and said “I just want to confirm that I really can’t fly on this plane. Are you sure there’s no way I can get on it?” (It was still in the process of boarding at this point). The woman who I spoke with before glanced over at me and demanded to see my ID. She gave it to some guy and demanded for him to look me up. Finally, she said “get your stuff and come on around.” I hesitated, and then realised she meant that I could board. I skipped down the terminal hallway and hopped onto the plane with more enthusiasm than a 10 year old.

31F. I had a window seat again. Yaaaayyyy! 27,000 feet. The woman next to me was pretty much sleeping the whole time. She actually woke up and asked me if I was okay after she saw that I was having a panic attack from the descent/landing. She kindly explained to me that sitting in the back of the plane is just louder, and that they have to turn the thrusters off and on to make sure that we are in the right flight pattern and out of the way of other incoming/outgoing planes. I totally know all of this already but it was really calming to me to hear her explain all of this again. I’m glad I sit next to such nice strangers on planes 🙂

To take my mind off of the flight, I pulled up “notepad’ on my phone and typed nonsense the whole time. I refuse to share it. I plan on flying again soon! I’m ready to conquer this fear!!! Anyone want to take me to vegas/colorado/california/hawaii/europe??? KTHXBYE ❤

6 thoughts on “Aerophobia

  1. Nate July 19, 2011 / 2:40 pm

    😦
    At least you had some kindly passengers to get you through the endeavor! The kindness of the human spirit knows no bounds!

  2. Kate July 20, 2011 / 2:13 pm

    You’re insane for taking pictures out of the plane window. I would be pressed against the seat praying to god that we wouldn’t crash 🙂 I’m glad we can vent about our mutual hatred of planes 🙂 Glad you had fun, but also glad you’re back! 🙂 xx

    • fabulousinfayetteville July 20, 2011 / 2:31 pm

      Aww, thanks! I’m glad I’m not the only one who turns into a fraidy cat 🙂 I feel like such a stud for flying alone!

  3. sports live streaming October 15, 2012 / 2:23 pm

    Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look
    forward to new updates.

    • fabulousinfayetteville October 15, 2012 / 5:48 pm

      It’s @fantabulouslisa! there is a side panel on my blog page with my twitter feed 🙂

Leave a Reply

