Quiche Me!

This might be the most adaptable recipe in the universe. So aside from making sure that you have a pie crust, you can pretty much make a quiche with stuff you probably already have in your kitchen… especially if you’re an omelette lover.

Stuff you’ll need:

  • Pie Crust (frozen, fridgerated, whatever suits your fancy)
  • eggs (fresh eggs, egg white carton, just get something that came from a “baby chicken orb”)
  • selection of your favorite veggies. as few or as many as u want.
  • cheeeese me. this is optional but a quiche without cheese is like a day without wine… er, sunshine? I’m using sharp cheddar, mozzarella, and parm.
  • Milk or milk substitute. I use almond milk. regular milk makes me, uh, gaseous.
Hokay, So. I forgot to take some pie pans when I moved from the house to my apartment, so all I had was this stupid casserole dish.  It will have to do.

First I preheated my oven to about 350 and stuck this crust in enough to get it a little dryer –about 10 min. Just because it dont like it when its dough-ey. Doughey. Doughie. Dowey. Doh-ee.

Then if you’re using onions [or carrots or cauliflower or pretty much anything that is hard. I like to soften up my veggies bc once theyre in the quiche they aren’t gonna cook much more], stick em in a pan with a bit of oil. You should use coconut oil because it doesn’t make free radicals when you heat it up. I don’t know about you, but the last thing I want cancer from is by cooking vegetable oil.

After a few minutes of golden onion creation, I added the mushrooms… because I decided they were the second most important thing that I wanted to cook down.

I also added tomatoes (some fresh and some sun-dried. ohhh sun-dried tomatoes make my world rock).

I added the spinach last, just to wilt it some. I didn’t want to cook the crap out of it because I didn’t have a lot of it and it shrinks up a TON. I like to use frozen spinach in quiches, but I didn’t have time. Those things a a booger to thaw out and squeeze water out of.

Now for the egg mixture:

I used 4 eggs. You can use 3. Or 7. Or half a jug of egg whites. Whatever floats your boat. I eyeballed some almond milk in there. I probably used about half a cup. I hate measuring unless I’m baking. Oh wait, i am baking…. well…. baking something that requires science like cheesecake. Or plain cake, for that matter.

Dump your veggies into your crust.

The add the egg. It will fill up all the crevaces. Crevices? Opps! –and add the cheese too. I ended up stiring it around a bit so it wouldnt all be on the top.

I upped the heat to about 400 degrees and in she goes!

I set the timer for 30 minutes because I had no clue. I went to go change cothes for kickboxing class and by the time I came back it was almost done. And that was only about 12 minutes. i kept in there for probably 18 minutes total. Just make sure that the egg isn’t runny. If you stab it with a knife it shouldn’t be all eggy and juicy.

Well, maybe just a little juicy because your vegetables are excreting water.

Especially the artichokes. Oh, i forgot to tell you but i added artichokes. Right after the tomatoes. And I would have also added feta if I had any…

Nommmm! Between dinner last night and breakfast this morning, I already ate over half of this thing. Enjoy!!!

One thought on “Quiche Me!

  1. Nate July 22, 2011 / 2:10 pm

    I can almost smell/taste the deliciousness from your pics. Looks great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

