Fabulous Bean Salad

I think my facebook is broken. I can’t figure out how to tack “and fabulous” onto the end of my relationship status 😉

Same ol, same ol. Not a lot going on inside my head this week. I’m mainly concerned with the fact that I’m really sucking at making any money at the gym this month: I’ve had to cancel lots of kickboxing classes for lack of attendance. Then  I forgot to set my backup alarm for my 5:30 AM pump class this morning so I slept through it. Fail.

On the bright side, I ended up getting nearly 9 hours of sleep last night.

20110818-104604.jpg

Double rainbow-oh my gosh! What does it mean???

Nah actually I saw this rainbow last Friday. Kinda nice to be able to appreciate life’s little gems every once in a while.

On saturday I made this bean salad:

20110818-104613.jpg

It’s from Jillian Micheals: Making the Cut book. It’s got lots of nutrients and fiber and… well… it’s pretty hard not to eat the whole thing in one day. Here’s what’s in it:

  • 1 can red kindey beans
  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 1 can artichokes in water (quartered and chopped a bit more)
  • 1 cup orange bell pepper (because its pretty but you can use whatever color u want–except blue…)
  • 1/4c fresh parsely
  • 1c chopped red onion (half an onion was plenty!)
  • 1c chopped fresh tomato

Then the dressing:

  • olive oil
  • balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp each of dried oregano, basil, and thyme.
  • feta cheese
You can pretty much eyeball all of this since it doesn’t have to be cooked or anything it’s pretty much impossible to mess up… unless you end up dumping the whole container of thyme in there or something. Mine was ultra low fat because I had run out of olive oil so it only had about a tablespoon in there, haha! Oh. It’s better the longer it “marinates” so let it sit for at least an hour in the fridge for the best taste!
I used the leftover veggies to make a quiche. Nom. (I did not take a pic of it though. boo.)
3 thoughts on “Fabulous Bean Salad

  1. Nate August 18, 2011 / 4:27 pm

    I think I saw that exact same double rainbow!

      • Nate August 29, 2011 / 3:57 am

        I think I need a gold grill, possibly with diamonds.

Leave a Reply

