Pumpkin Protein Bars

Well, I don’t have a cupcake recipe for you right now. But I DO have: *drumroll*

Jamie Eason Protein Bars!

You’ll need:

  • 2 cups of oat flour
  • 2 scoops vanilla whey protein
  • 1/2 c Xlylitol Brown Sugar blend (or just plain xylitol…. or baking splenda…)
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground clove
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 4 oz. containter of applesauce (try the babyfood section)
  • 4 large egg whites
  • 1/2 c almond milk
  • 1 15oz. can of pumpkin (not the sugary pie mix, just plain pumpkin!)
  • 1/2 c crushed walnuts (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350. Add all the dry ingredients together (including the spices) in a big bowl and mix it together. Then add all the wet ingredients and mix that up. It’s not too big of a deal to mix it by hand) I chose to because my cuisinart weights like 85 lbs. Fold in the chopped walnuts if you’re using them. (I love em because they add some healthy fat and Marlea’s favorite: a little texture!)

20110828-094550.jpg

Then pour the batter into a 9 x 13 inch pyrex dish thing like the one in my pictures. It’s pretty big, bigger than I thought it would be. Bake at 350 for about 25 minutes. I found that to be plenty long, and undercooking them a bit makes them seem a lot more moist. Yay!

20110828-094601.jpg

Mmmmmm, smells like delicious pumpkin pie!

20110828-094612.jpg

Then cut it into 24 bars or so (three cuts longways, 5 cuts shortways.) I wrapped them up in two’s just like Jamie. Wrapping them up makes them last longer because they don’t have any preservatives in them.

20110828-094630.jpg

Snacks!!! nommmm.

Okay so please take yout brain out of “food” more for a minute. The picture below is NOT for the faint of heart! This is what happened to my foot after a 12-miler in the new Merrells. Youch.

20110828-094646.jpg

Runners have super ugly feet for the most part. So…. at least that’s my excuse. Um yeah. It’s the mother of all blood blisters.  I went to walmart and bought some “mole skin” to help prevent this problem in the future. I heard a rumor that this is the type of blister than can creep up your whole toe and end up leaving you without a toenail. YIKES!

This is  is Bubbles.

20110828-094652.jpg

These are his bubbles:

20110828-094704.jpg

That’s what bettas do. When they like their house, the males decorate with bubbles hoping that they’ll get girlfriend to lay eggs with. Unlike most males, male bettas actually are in charge of taking care of the eggs until they hatch. They will put them inside the bubbles and exhaust themselves by working to keep the eggs in the bubbles if they fall out. I’ve never bred betta fish, but I love them so I find that stuff interesting. Hah.

So fit fest at the gym actually went pretty well…

Had to teach group kick and group power after that 12 mile run. So yes, I had that fantastic blister along for the ride. It was about 90 degrees, and we taught power kick first. No one really came to it, so it was mostly just people watching it… kinda sad because I was really hoping we could raise awareness for the class and get the numbers up. Then we taught pump. I was having a blast, so I kinda forgot how exhausted I was.

I went home, took a three hour nap. Got up, ate dinner, went back to bed for 8 more hours 🙂

I’m actually unable to walk correctly today because my calves are so incredibly stiff. But I’m teaching power at 2! Wooohooo!

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Protein Bars

  1. Nate August 29, 2011 / 3:54 am

    Blisters = no bueno

  2. Kate August 29, 2011 / 3:37 pm

    Those protein bars look yummers. 🙂

  3. ilovefetacheese August 31, 2011 / 1:37 pm

    yummmy pumpkin bars! And you poor thing! Blood blisters are awful 😦

Leave a Reply

