Single is the new black

Firstly, LOL:

20110831-083918.jpg

Mom sent me this picture of her dog and I immediately had to merge it with Fizzgig from The Dark Crystal.

It makes me giggle every time I look at it 🙂

ONWARD. I decided to make a list of all the fantastic things about being single. I find myself surrounded by lots of married women. I’ve been single for about a year and a half now, but pretty much every single one of my running buddies are married.I’ve disovered that their lives aren’t any more perfect than mine. I used to be really jealous of all my friends who got married right out of college. Like REALLY jealous. I was super depressed about being alone all the time while everyone else got to live “happily every after”. Married women have just as many (if not more) complaints than I do. So here is my non-exhaustive list of things that rock about being on my own.

  1. No one can tell me how to spend my money. I am 100% in charge of my budget and feel no shame in spoiling myself with lululemon, betsey johnson, new shoes, new purses, starbucks treats. Whatever I want: if it fits into my budget–It’s mine!
  2. I get up at 4:30-5:00 AM quite often and don’t have to tiptoe. I can flip on all the lights, talk to myself, throw my clothes all over the ground and turn on my radio as loud as I want to while I’m getting ready.
  3. I don’t have to share my space. The laundry room/bathroom/fridge/TV/etc are ALL mine. I can watch stupid shows like the Jersey Shore, Millionare Matchmaker, and whatever else my heart desires whenever I want.
  4. I am able to stay away from bad manly food habits like ordering pizza at midnight or hitting up McDonalds… um… ever.
  5. If I want to take a 3 hour nap at 4:00 in the afternoon on a Saturday–I can. And no one will stop me/wake me up/care.
  6. No one is going to criticize me for my table manners (I might occasionally enjoy eating parts of a salad–or other non finger foods– with my fingers… so what).
  7. I pretty much never have to close my bathroom door-lol.
  8. Not that I’m a shacker, but I get to sleep in my own bed every night. By myself. Diagonally/star-shaped. And no one ever wakes me up.
  9. I have the privacy to text/call whomever I want whenever I want without sending anyone into a jealous rage.
  10. Along with being single, I choose not to be sexually active which means I don’t have to stress about birth control or STD prevention (or billions of other issues that people who have sex have to worry about).
  11. There is pretty much no drama in my life. Nuff said.
A few of my recent purchases that make me happy:

20110831-083925.jpg

Lululemon Run: Take Flight Skirt. Love it. Excuse the sweat, this pic is post-run 🙂

Oh, and it’s paired with the black camo CRB.

20110831-083933.jpg

Ugg riding boots with lace-up cuteness in the back. ❤

Don’t get me wrong–I don’t mean to sound like a man-hater. I think having a companion in life is something I definitely want one day–especially since I want kids. I miss having a concert/hiking/wakeboarding buddy and someone to rub my shoulders and go on dates with, etc. But for now I am not having too much trouble finding the little goodies that come with flying solo.

Man, I ‘need’ a new skirt… and maybe a cute necklace… 😉

9 thoughts on “Single is the new black

  1. Nate August 31, 2011 / 2:53 pm

    “I am able to stay away from bad manly food habits like ordering pizza at midnight or hitting up McDonalds… um… ever.”
    Hey now! Not all us guys do that! 😛

    Good stuff with the rest of it, though. Makes me feel better about being single, definitely! 🙂

    • fabulousinfayetteville August 31, 2011 / 2:59 pm

      well…. not gonna lie–I also have the tendency of matching food intake calorie-for-calorie with whomever I’m sharing a meal with. Which usually means I ate way too much if im sharing it with a 200 lb guy. LOL it’s my own damn fault, but at least I don’t have to worry about it.

      • Nate September 2, 2011 / 6:48 pm

        Fair enough. 😉 I will likely have a few extra calories during the long weekend here, but seeing as how I have a 15 miler tomorrow, I am not especially worried about it. 😛

  2. Kate September 1, 2011 / 8:28 pm

    Those boots are hot 🙂

      • natalie November 5, 2011 / 12:33 am

        where did you order them from? I have been looking for those boots in black everywhere but cannot find them!

      • fabulousinfayetteville November 7, 2011 / 3:38 pm

        I got them from Hautelook a few months ago. You never know what will be going on sale, and I saw that ther was an UGG event so I made sure to be online right at 10:00 AM Central. I had to be FAST! And I wanted the 9 but I could only snag the 9.5, which actually still seems a tad small. I’d recommend going up at LEAST half a size in that boot!

  3. ~jenniferlynn February 11, 2013 / 3:51 pm

    Thanks, girl. This is me: I pretty much never have to close my bathroom door-lol. 😉

    AND.. I bought myself some some cute new riding boots last night from Target 50% off.. though I’m struggling with losing a huge chunk of income that I had with a live-in boyfriend, a girl has to treat herself..

    🙂

Leave a Reply

