Rumpelstiltskin

Coutresy of DYAC:

Every once in awhile one of these will hit me hard enough that I make inappropriate noises at work 🙂

Speaking of work, the other tenant in our building decided to claim all of the parking spots for their own. Because painting things is legally binding. Pretty sure everyone who works here completely ignored it–as we should!

20110916-085218.jpg

Okay so don’t be creeped out, this is my, uh.. elbowpit.

20110916-085233.jpg

It was kinda hard to capture, but there is an enormous bruise from where I had blood drawn. Granted, I had it drawn three times in each arm. This was a week ago. Part of my quest to figure out why I’m an exhausted mess. I’ve pretty much come to the conclusion that I just don’t sleep enough. And need a more nutrient dense diet because I demand a lot out of my body. Here are my blood glucose tolerance test results:

  • Fasting sugar: 85
  • Immediately drank an orangey sugar drink.
  • 30 minutes later: 104
  • 60 min: 68
  • 2 hours: 69
  • 3 hours: 86
  • 4 hours: 89
So I don’t really know anything at all about blood sugar, but I’m assuming those reults are pretty normal aside from the low dip in blood sugar after the high. It only lasted a couple of hours before my body was able to even itself back into the 80’s.

While my blood sugar level was in the 60’s I was feeling pretty cruddy, but nothing very alarming. I think the worst part was that my vision got blurry a few times. Otherwise I was just sitting there fantasizing about sandwiches/ soup/ lasagna/ cheese/ fruit/ etc. for 4 hours.

My favorite food in the universe is definitely sushi:

20110916-085259.jpg

That is the Ocean Breeze roll and the Smoke Cash roll at Meiji in Fayetteville. Went there for lunch with Zach & mom earlier this week. Sooooo good. I think I’ll have my birthday there one day, lol.

I’ve been totally sucking at cooking lately.

20110916-085310.jpg

I stole the idea of a “cheezy tofu scramble” from SweetToothRunner’s blog. I think I did it wrong. It was gross and made my stomach hurt. I ended up using the rest of the tofu in a stir fry: mixed it in a skillet with a bag of “stir fry veggies” that are already chopped and come in a bag and dumped some stir fry sauce on it. So easy. And turned out much better than my pretend-cheesy tofu poop.

It’s the time of year where I get to see a lot of sunrises because it comes up after I get done teaching pump/running early runs.

20110916-085318.jpg

20110916-085326.jpg

& thanks to Daylight savings time, I’ll get to do it again in January-ish.

I want it to hurry up and get here because I hate spending the first two hours of my day in darkness.

I looked it up. It’s “fall back” on 11/6/11.

This is the pinnacle upsidedown cake martini from Hjem. It totally looks like candy corn! But it’s super delicious. Hjem is a happening spot with great atmosphere and a pretty darn tasty menu…. oh and the food menu is good, too 😉

20110916-085336.jpg

Call me crazy, but I really wanna go there and try the antelope.

On a final note, my doctors advice is to “eat more calories” to solve my blood sugar problem. Which is totally stupid. I already eat tons of food. I just need more nutrient dense food or something. I refuse to scale back on my activies.

I ❤ running (lonnnnng runs)

I ❤ wakeboarding

I ❤ kickboxing

I ❤ biking (mountain/road)

I ❤ teaching spin class

I ❤ teaching group power

I ❤ adventure racing

I ❤ yoga

And I’m not gonna give anything up. Dangit.

Running a half-marathon tomrrow in Winslow. Just wanting to see what it’s like to race in minimal shoes and get a feel for my current level of fitness on my quest for Dallas. I’ll blog my results soon!

5 thoughts on “Rumpelstiltskin

  1. Nate September 16, 2011 / 3:09 pm

    You should paint over their paint, reserving the spots for your company…..or make inappropriate alterations to their “running man” logo. Either way, it would be funny.

    Wish I could make the Winslow half, but have family in town. Still on track for the Dallas one though! 🙂

    • fabulousinfayetteville September 16, 2011 / 3:18 pm

      I think we should go make each parking spot unique. Giving them different outfits/hats or just turn the whole parking lot into a comic strip… even if we just do it with sidewalk chalk–it should happen.

      • Nate September 16, 2011 / 4:45 pm

        Should DEFINITELY happen. You could give them costumes for Halloween, or dress them up as Santa or elves for Christmas….

  2. Emma (Sweet Tooth Runner) September 16, 2011 / 10:18 pm

    Aah noo sorry it turned out like poop!! I hate it when that happens to me with recipes! 😦 I think I will update that recipe though cos my instructions there are pretty useless really!! And GOOD LUCK for your half marathon tomorrow!! ENJOY!! 😀

    • fabulousinfayetteville September 18, 2011 / 2:18 am

      I definitely also am brand new to cooking with tofu, so I was really no sure about what kind to buy–they all have weird labels like “super duper extra firm”.

      Not sure what I was expecting though 🙂 I intend to try more of your recipes!!!

Leave a Reply

