Winslow Half Marathon!

I ran my half marathon today– woohooo!!! At the price of two blood blisters, some achey muscles, and a little bit of mud along the way.

OMG YUM: Geraldis has the best lasagna in the universe. Met everyone from my lovely running group for a pre-race pasta binge. I’m all about it. Carbo-loading is a total myth… I think… but I don’t care.

20110917-090225.jpg

Then I went home and laid out all my stuff. It’s not good to wake up on race day and be confused about what you’re gonna wear… being unprepared sucks.

20110917-090454.jpg

I like how you can see the reflectivity on some of my gear b/c of the flash!

I proceeded to sleep for 7 hours and then woke up with a bowl of my infamous “proatmeal”. I eat this almost every morning unless I’m having a smoothie. It’s just some quaker instant with a scoop of protein. Super easy and a balanced meal.

20110917-090503.jpg

Stir it up and enjoyyyyy…

20110917-090513.jpg

This is the GU that I meant to bring with me. Thank goodness Michelle had an extra one! I actually found this one on the floor of my apartment when I got home. I could have sworn I put it in my purse, but it probably jumped out.

Race outfit: Ready to go!!!

20110917-090525.jpg

I was a bit scared honestly on the way there because there was a 50% chance of rain… and uh…. looking out the window of my car I was pretty sure that it was more like 100% chance. It actually ended up thundering and drizzling a bit during the race, but nothing that warranted any danger.

20110917-090612.jpg

The course was a complete mystery to me. I figured there would be a few hills, but it was CONSTANT hills! Rolling hills, usually no more than 50-100 yards up and down. But man they were steep and there were a million of them! And the course was about 85% dirt road. I knew to expect gravel but this was dirt. And it was raining. And dirt + rain= really sticky slick mud for runners. It kinda made a cool noise,  though, when we all ran through it together! Hahaha 🙂

Oh, and the last mile or so was a huuuuuuge downhill. Pushing yourself down a hill is an easy way to get injured, so I was definitely trying to be careful on that.

20110917-090621.jpg

The  medals were kinda unique. I don’t think they gave out other awards, but I ended up being 3rd in my age group 🙂 and 4th female overall, woot!

Surprisingly, there was an event photographer. Here’s my new friend Morgan and me! She is all the way from Portland. Note that my riptag is missing! Haha I noticed it on mile 4. It wasn’t a big deal, though. Small race. No time chips. And the post-race food tent was composed of candy bars, cookies, and a some fruit. A WHOLE lot of cookies. Eugh. I skipped it and went for the fruit–best apple I’ve had in months.

One of the searched tags from my blog stats is “gross feet”.  Hm, I wonder why.

So there’s my finish time. I’m actually pretty happy with it. Yes-I was like the only person in my group who didnt set a PR, but it as a tough course, and I definitely exceeded my goal of running a 1:50.

Post race smiles!

NASA group! Looking kinda mucky, but accomplished.

4 thoughts on “Winslow Half Marathon!

  1. Nate September 18, 2011 / 4:20 pm

    Congrats!

  2. Kate S. September 18, 2011 / 7:08 pm

    Proud of you, girl! 🙂

  3. John April 27, 2012 / 3:32 pm

    Great post! The 2nd Annual will be held on September 22 this year. More awards, chip timing and expanded amenities at the finish line including a Community Exp and a barbecue. Hope to see you again this year!

Leave a Reply

