rude awakening

EEEEK!

I just read this article:

http://www.marksdailyapple.com/case-against-cardio/

And now I feel like I’m having a huge epiphany. Ok… so for those who don’t know–I just recently underwent this ridiculous ordeal trying to figure out my issues with exhaustion and stress and low blood sugar. And I just read this:

Well, we know that this current popular high intensity aerobic pursuit is a dead-end. It requires huge amounts carbohydrate (sugar) to sustain, it promotes hyperinsulinemia (overproduction of insulin), increases oxidative damage (the production of free radicals) by a factor of 10 or 20 times normal, and generates high levels of the stress hormone cortisol in many people, leaving them susceptible to infection, injury, loss of bone density and depletion of lean muscle tissue – while encouraging their bodies to deposit fat. Far from that healthy pursuit we all assumed it was!

Is that me? I’m training for a marathon. I’m an endurance cardio junkie… I’m really not a sprinter. Sprinting kindof hurts. Oh gosh… I’m signed up for a billion endurance races right now. Oh man. Calm down. I am grateful for becoming enlightened about what the heck is going on with my body.

This new info is not going to ruin my plans. I’m going to keep grinding and go ahead and run my upcoming races:

  • 10/22/11 Lewis and Clark Ozark Adventure Race 50+ mi
  • 10/29/11 Raid the Rock Adventure Race 50+ mi
  • 11/24/11 Route 66 Half Marathon, Tulsa
  • 12/4/11 White Rock Marathon, Dallas
  • 3/4/11 Little Rock Marathon
Then after all of that I swear I’m going to focus on high intensity intervals and sprints and heavy lifting. Crossfit style workouts if you will.
That’s the plan.
I’m guessing I should probably try to alter my diet a bit as well…
**edit**
I found this in the comments:
The necessary high carb diet is what promotes hyperinsulinemia – not the actual training. No sources necessary for that.
Which means heck yes, I’m going to have to stop eating all the carbs. It’s just that I can’t do that right now because of the hours of rigorous training that I am demanding of myself. Maybe I’ll change my tuesday night spin class from 60 min back  to 45…
4 thoughts on “rude awakening

  1. polkadotrunner October 16, 2011 / 2:28 pm

    We’ll still keep doing marathons though, right? Remember, we need that Tiffany’s necklace! 🙂

    • fabulousinfayetteville October 16, 2011 / 3:23 pm

      Yes! But I’m definitely going to pick and choose them. I LOVE endurance sports! I wanna do triathalons. I’d love to do a half ironman. I’d love to run a marathon every year, but I think I’m gonna have to scale back to once a year because it’s wreaking havoc on me 😦

Leave a Reply

