Race season is here!!!

Gooooood morning. Yesterday was awesome. I ran 5 miles in 37 degree weather with Kate. I miss doing runs all bundled up, so it was nice. Just kinda dark and scary because the sun doesnt even start coming up anymore till 7.

Post-run veggie scramble with a pumpkin spice latte:

20111020-094329.jpg

I got my lululemon goodies in the mail! I am absolutely IN LOVE with the Full Tilt Long Sleeve!

20111020-094515.jpg

20111020-094522.jpg

It’s SUPER soft and has tons of great details: love the ruffle, the reflective ruffle on the hands, the zipper front pocket, the waist band, the mesh panels, the neckline (fits my broad sholders perfectly), and sleeve length. This might be my most favorite item from lululemon EVER. For real. I want this in 6 more colors, please. Sheesh.

I’m not sure if you can see it, but in the second pic if you look at my dishwasher brush I actually have the handle inside my camelback bladder because it’s holding it open to help it dry out. It’s the big fat 4-liter bladder. I’m getting it ready for the Ozark Adventure Race this weekend!  Last year I drank every last drop and had to share with my teammates too–that race requires some serious H2O!

So here’s so basic info about what an Adventure Race is and what I am expecting for this year:

What it involves:

  • orienteering old school style with a compass and topography-map
  • running around in the woods or on the roads with a backpack looking for checkpoints
  • same as above only on a mountain bike
  • same as above only in a canoe…. (hopefully in a lake or high river)
Last year was my first race. I joined Shaun and Daniel who were veterans (2 years) but had never competed in the nationally qualiftying division (in this division the team has to be co-ed and consist of three members). Last year’s race was a BLAST! We rappelled off of a 12-story building, biked all over roads, got lost in the woods, and bottomed out our canoe 823 times.
We ended up being cut off by the race coordinators because we were too slow–Daniel was suffering from a super hardcore case of IT band syndrome and we had to walk when we should have been running. I was carring his backpack on my front and my backpack on my back because I’m a ninja turtle. It still took us 14.5 hours and we ended up covering probably about 50 of the 70 mile course.
We will also be doing Raid the Rock next weekend. Raid the rock usually clocks in around 50 miles while Ozark Advneture Race tends to be more like 70. So I’m hoping that we win one of these races so that we can qualify for 2012 USARA Adventure Race National Championship! What a cool thing, to go compete nationally in adventure racing?! We will seee…. I guess my first goal should be for us to actually finish the race without injuries 🙂
I got someone to cover my spin class tonight so that I can go take an orienteering workshop tonight. I have done it before in college in geology lab, but I’d like a refresher so I can be a third brain and double-check Sean’s stuff. Last year I think I just smiled and nodded. We only got lost once, though. It was because our map was from the 70’s and we were confused by a road that wasn’t on the map.
I love adventures! Less than 2 days away! I can’t waaaaaaaaait!!!
5 thoughts on “Race season is here!!!

  1. Nate October 20, 2011 / 3:51 pm

    Cold + running = sucky

    • fabulousinfayetteville October 20, 2011 / 4:03 pm

      You, sir, are wearing the wrong gear then!

      invest in:

      • warm running tights (thick, can be kinda looser style if u prefer)
      • ear warmers
      • gloves–only necessary for below freezing
      • pullover/jacket sythetic or fleece
      • wool socks (smartwools are fantastic)

      You’ll change your mind 🙂

      • Nate October 21, 2011 / 7:57 pm

        I’ve got (most of) those things! I still prefer it to not be stinking cold. (actually, once I get warmed up, it isn’t too bad—it’s just those first few minutes)

  2. polkadotrunner October 21, 2011 / 7:48 pm

    I agree Lisa, cold weather running is THE BOMB. People who say they don’t like, simply don’t know what they’re missing. I am so excited for our Tulsa marathon but good luck on every other race you’re doing. And of course, LIttle Rock can’t get here soon enough 🙂

  3. fabulousinfayetteville October 21, 2011 / 9:20 pm

    For me, cold running=faster running. Bring it on, snowman! lol

    Kate–less than a month away, now!! EEEEE!

Leave a Reply

