Fail-tastic

Whyyyyy?!??!?!

20111021-141702.jpg

How did I find myself in this depressing predicament, you ask? Well, I will surely tell you. Let’s go back, shall we?

I got to Lewis and Clark Outfitters last night for the navigation workshop at 7. I was happy to see that Greg was instructing it–I know him through Shaun and Daniel (my teammates) because we all did a night navigation training excercise with them last year.

20111021-141647.jpg

It was rather crowded. I noticed a group of guys working together and saw that they were wearing MINIMALIST shoes–for real. One had on New Balance Minimus and one had on Merrell Barefoot. I opened my mouth to ask them if they were racing in minimal shoes while they simultaneously asked me if I wanted to join them to practice plotting points–I felt like it was meant to be.

I soon found out that they were Alabama frat boys. A little bit disappointing, but I still decided that I had to impress them. I swear… I am a 14 year old boy sometimes. The last two points that we plotted were actual checkpoints outside that we could go find in real life. They opted to do just that and invited me to join them. So I did. It didn’t end well, obviously. I was still wearing work clothes because I has actually called ahead and asked and they said there was no need to bring anything with me.

I had my headlamp in the car, so off I went into the woods with three random guys that I didn’t know. Brilliant. We found the first checkpoint pretty quickly. The second posed much more of a challenge. I was trying to be hardcore so I crawled right into the brush. One of the guys joined me and after about 15 miuntes we decided to find freedom, which involved climbing a very steep embankment and then scaling a fence…. A few seconds later I realised that my car keys were no longer on my person! In an anxious fit, I attempted to re-scale the fence which resulted in a GIANT hole being ripped in my jeans butt and my compass (which was in my back pocket) being cracked in half. FAIL.

One of the guys was nice and came to help me find my keys. He actually ended up ripping his butt/pants as well. We traced all of our steps and he found the keys as we were going out near the same point where I had come in. I was so happy, but sad that I ripped my jeans. And that I had ripped the bow off of the adorable flats I was wearing (im planning to go search for that in proper attire eventually).

I ran back to Lewis and Clark. The woman at the desk was sympathetic and told me that they would probably let me exchange the compass. But they actually made me pay for another one. For some reason, I paid for it… I wish I would have tried harder to work something out. I never thanked that dude for finding my keys…

Tonight:

2:00pm – 7:00pm: Registration and Pre-race gear check. Liability and photo releases will be completed at registration. All team members must be present.
5:00 pm – 7:00 pm: Pre-race pasta feed

7:00 pm: Pre-race meeting – All team members must be present

Stay tuned for more adventures in the woods with boys. Brought to you by: some clumsy girl who likes to throw money away.

I still have a thorn in my palm 😦

9 thoughts on “Fail-tastic

  1. Nate October 21, 2011 / 7:55 pm

    Sounds like a painful adventure. 😦

      • Nate October 24, 2011 / 12:51 pm

        You are always so optimistic! 😉

  2. Mat November 1, 2011 / 10:46 pm

    I’m from Wisconsin & never joined a frat. I found out I was hanging with Alabama frat boys during the drive out. They’re decent frat boys as things go.

    I scored some black duct tape for the tear in the jeans, unfortunately that was after dinner at the Pesto Cafe. There was a bunch of couples there in formal attire…

    • Lisa November 2, 2011 / 1:45 pm

      OMG. the internet amazes me. Did this really just happen? lol wtf. Are you the one who found my keys??!? Thanks for finding my keys….. AND I went back and found the bow that fell off my shoe 🙂

      Haven’t had any more broken compass issues. but i lost my camel back bite valve during Raid the Rock. Small potatoes.

      Congrats on getting 3rd place, btw!

      • Mat November 3, 2011 / 1:42 am

        I got the link from one of the frat boys, no I idea how they found you. I’m the fool who fell on the fence right after you did. I can’t believe you found the bow for the shoes.
        We were shocked that we placed, since we got very lost in the hiking section and ended up looking for point 8 and 9 for about 5 hours. I guess it pays to be in a category with only 4 teams 🙂

  3. Mat November 3, 2011 / 1:46 am

    Hit the character limit… Your team did quite awesome and we felt like schmucks when we heard your time.

    Did you hear about my teammates quad cramp? He cramped so hard after rappelling that he made a groan, coasted to a stop, and just tipped over and started screaming. Scary at the time, hilarious now. We drug him in with the rope we tied the bikes down in the canoe with. Of course we hid the rope at the finish line, so he wouldn’t look weak (he was the super buff one).

    • Lisa November 3, 2011 / 1:36 pm

      OMG I had no idea!!! That’s crazy!!! It pays off to be an endurance athlete when you sign up for stuff like that so that your body is used to dealing with the craziness. Hey you should round up your crew for March and April bc there are 2 more races coming up:

      1.) Ouachita Adventure Race http://ouachitaadventurerace.com/
      2.) Ozark Challenge
      http://www.byrdsadventurecenter.com/OzarkChallengeAdventureRace.htm (this one has a 36-hour race option)

      p.s. i can’t decide if im embarassed or not that you guys found my blog….lol!

      • Mat November 3, 2011 / 9:29 pm

        Those sound like two opposite ends of the spectrum. I’ll see if the guys are game.

        I think we still qualify as strangers, so I’d go with not embarrassed.

Leave a Reply

