Lewis and Clark Ozark Adventure Race 2011

So I ended up breaking my second compass. I had it on my desk and accidentally knocked it off and *boom*…. three pieces that are impossible to put back together.

20111024-082859.jpg

I was feeling pretty disgruntled already with Lewis and Clark, so I had decided to just return this compass and use an old one that my dad gave me instead. BUT–they ended up refunding my money to me and giving me a THIRD compass for FREE. Which ended up holding up very well through the race. And now I’m a happy customer again. 🙂

So here I am pre-race all decked out at around 4:45 AM.

I used all three of these layers. And to anyone who has stumbled upon this link looking for Adventure Racing tips on what to wear: wear padded bike shorts. Wear several layer to shed. and wear GOOD gloves. You fingers will potentially freeze while biking in 40 degree weather if your gloves are crappy.

How did we do? *drumroll, please*…..

SECOND PLACE IN OUR DIVISION! (3-person co-ed) and 3rd overall which gave us the last slot to qualifty for USARA Nationals. I looked it up. It’s a year from now in Catskills, NY. If my teammates are up for it, I will SO start saving up my money (and vacation time) to do it!

The course seemed much shorter than last year–a lot less running. More checkpoints that were way out in the middle of nowhere instead of being anywhere near trails. We had to canoe in the lake with our three bikes in the canoe with us, which was a pretty intense challenge. A lot of teams ended up taking their bikes apart, but we threw them all across the middle. It made the boat wobble quite a bit, and the handlebars dragging in the water slowed us town a tad, but not enough to really matter. We weren’t the fastest canoe, and we made a wrong turn in the beginning because we got confused in the fog. But our team’s name is Wrong Turn, so we figured we might as well stick to the stereotype 😉

I think my marathon training served me well in the race. I had endurance for days and both of the boys were “hitting walls”. Yeah the bike hills were pretty intense, but I was still getting pretty far ahead of everyone. I’m an extremely competitive person. I’m still very proud of our team as a whole. Everyone pushed hard. We never would have made it without Shaun’s fantastic nav skills!

In the end, we won lots of cool swag. For getting second place, we got $25 gift certificate for Lewis and Clark, a North Face sleeping bag, a pair of socks from Merrell (men’s large so I passed them off to my dad), and a super neat wooden plaque:

Yes, I am still wearing my new lululemon Full Tilt LS. I can’t help it. I am obsessed…

ALSO, everyone had their name drawn for various prizes and I think I fared very well ending up with this Women’s Columbia half-zip base layer:

20111024-082917.jpg

It is even complete with thumbholes!The inside of it is made up of tiny silver dots that use the same technology as an emergency blanket: they reflect your own body heat back onto you keeping you extra warm with less bulk.

Close-up:

I wore this around my apartment for about 10 minutes and I was definitely impressed with the warmth. I can’t wait to try this out on a cold run. And since this is actually on the supply list for next weekend, I’m really looking forward to trying it then. Hope it’s nice and cold!!!

Most of the drawing prizes were kinda silly: $10 and $20 bills, boxes of energy gels, socks, hats, poison ivy medicine… but my teammate Daniel ended up winning a really fancy knife. And then Craig shaved a huge patch of hair off of his arm with it! Silly. Shaun got socks and a hat. And the two coolest prizes were a bike rack and a cycle ops trainer (turns your bike into a stationary bike so you can have your own private spin class in your living room!). That’s also what the first place team wins. Lucky buggers.

Speaking of buggers, I have an interesting fact to share.

20111024-082936.jpg

This is Breanie. He’s a 13-year-old pomeranian who has become an extremely finicky eater. Basically he has taught me not to eat Tyson chicken. He won’t touch the stuff, but he is all over Smart Chicken from harp’s or any other chicken. Makes me feel like Tyson chicken isn’t held up to very high standards. If it’s not good enough for him, then I’m not so sure it’s good enough for me.

So last night I decided to borrow Mandy’s Innate Chili recipe to use with ground chicken.

20111024-082942.jpg

20111024-082949.jpg

I think it turned out pretty good. Only thing is I think I would add more tomatoes next time.

7 thoughts on “Lewis and Clark Ozark Adventure Race 2011

  1. Nate October 24, 2011 / 2:31 pm

    1) Congrats on the great performance!
    2) badded bike shorts = padded bike shorts?
    3) Breanie is wise beyond his years.

  2. fabulousinfayetteville October 24, 2011 / 3:00 pm

    1.) THanks!
    2.) woops. Maybe I combined the words “badass” and “padded” (fixed now)
    3.) hahaha I suppose…

    • Nate October 24, 2011 / 3:08 pm

      2) Haha! Badass indeed.

  3. Kate October 24, 2011 / 3:58 pm

    You rock! Well done! Waaaait. Did you get a dog????

    • fabulousinfayetteville October 24, 2011 / 5:15 pm

      Hehe, no he is one of mom’s dogs. He’s old and crazy 🙂 I won’t be able to get a dog for a lonnnnng time.

  4. Marlea October 25, 2011 / 1:48 pm

    You truly are FABULOUS in Fayetteville! Hooray for 2nd place and qualifying for nationals! You look super cute in your new lulu top.

Leave a Reply

