Power Pumpkin Paleo Pancakes

Do you ever have mornings when you wake up STARVING?

20111129-082439.jpg

OMNOMNOMNOM.

Thanks to Jenn for this fantastic recipe! These pancakes are super easy, super healthy, and quite possibly my new favorite breakfast. To make them all you need is:

  • A heaping spoonful of nut butter (almond works great but i used sunflower nut butter)
  • 1 whole egg
  • either a banana or heap of canned pumpkin (or both?)
  • toppings of your choice (greek yogurt, wild blueberries, and honey for me!)
I added it all together and I also mixed in a dash of pumpkin pie spice just because I happened to have some on hand. Mixing this is a little trickier with a banana because you have to beat the banana’s guts so that it blends well into the batter.

20111129-082453.jpg

They turned out pretty thick. At Jenn’s house, she used fresh pumpkin and they were a bit too runny, so she ended up having to thicken them up with some flour. Therefore, canned pumpkin works best. And make sure its plain canned pumpkin and not the pre-sweetened pie filling style stuff.

20111129-082458.jpg

I think my pan was a tad too hot when I first put them on.

20111129-082506.jpg

20111129-082512.jpg

Fage total 0% is the best greek yogurt in the unvierse, btw.

20111129-082517.jpg

Microwaved some frozen wild blueberries (thanks, walmart!!!)

20111129-082528.jpg

+ drizzle of honey… Ta-daaaaaa!

Jenn is one of my running buddies. She is running the Little Rock Marathon this year with Kate and me (and whoever else jumps on the bandwagon), and she has challenged me to eat a clean diet with her until Christmas. At which I have pretty much already failed miserably, but I’m trying. This basically means cutting out processed crap as much as possible. No refined sugar, no white flour, no red number 5, no modified food starch, hydrogenated oils, GMO’s, MSG’s, or BPA’s(lol) !!! Basically if it’s in a package, stick to as few ingredients as possible and no added sugar. Honey is ok…. she told me that agave nectar is super proecssed and I was SHOCKED (no really, we were running at the time and I practically fell over). But she was right: WTF, mate.

So in my attemps to clean up my diet, I made some “quinoa chili” from a recipe in oxygen magazine like 3 years ago. You basically cook some quinoa and heat up a can of beans with a fourth a teaspoon of cinnamon and half a teaspoon of curry. Mix it together, and top it with fresh chives and fresh chopped tomato right before you eat it.

AND I made turkey meatballs… which I’m sure is somewhere else on my blog because it’s kindof my go-to protein when I can’t think of anything better 🙂

20111129-082544.jpg

Plated up quinoa chili with extra veggies:

20111129-082553.jpg

Goes well with turkey meatballs…. and greek yogurt for dessert. And maybe a square or two of ghirardelli. What? I didn’t say that I was good at this.

My favorite chips in the whole wide universe are actually pretty clean:

Ingredients: root vegetables, oil, salt. Boom.

20111129-082601.jpg

Don’t try them. They are EXTREMELY addicting.

I was trying to be cool and take a picture of how awesome I am at doing handwraps, but the flash went off. And the picture became exponentially awesomer. So I had to post.

Happy Tuesday!!! Marathon in 5 DAYS!

3 thoughts on “Power Pumpkin Paleo Pancakes

  1. Kate November 29, 2011 / 4:26 pm

    Whoooooooooooooooooot!!!!!!!!!! Good Dallas! You have to post something about “Lisa Does Dallas” 🙂

Leave a Reply

