Quinoa Casserole & Pulled BBQ Chicken

I ❤ Sushi.

[That’s no secret]

I finally got my other Green Dragon shirt from bodywear boutique. They sent me a size smaller, but it’s such a boxy shirt that it didn’t matter at all. So I wore it out Saturday night after my 20-miler with Kate.

20120130-082316.jpg

I thought the run went really well. We held a nice comfortable pace and had all kinds of fantabulous conversations. And I’m pretty sure by the end of it we were both pretty ready to be done–we ended up going home an taking a three hour nap! (lol not together, just in general) 🙂

I tried to meet her at Legacy Blues that night but it ended up being a big fail on my end. I was trying to bring Zach with me and I ended up leaving my phone at his apartment and getting to Legacy right after Kate left.

20120130-082325.jpg

Zach’s cat Vince likes to be an attention whore.

After we grabbed some food, we ended up finding Lizzie and Desi. They were going to the Randall/Benjamin Shreeve show at Rogue, so we joined them.

20120130-082339.jpg

$10 cover, local celebrities, good show.

They had a sketchy VIP section with lots of girls (some of who played with fire) wearing slutty costumes. They reeked of B.O. and it was kinda hard trying to find a place to stand that wasnt right next to them. I opted not to drink much so I wouldn’t be hungover. I was already achey from that 20 mile run, and becoming extremely dehydrated sounded like crap.

For some reason I woke up at 7:30 am the next day, so I went to WalMart and got some stuff to cook so I could eat something besides frozen junk this week.

One thing I made was Broccoli Quinoa Casserole. This one actually was pretty involved because you have to cook the broccoli and quinoa separately then mix it with the other ingredients and bake it.

20120130-082357.jpg

I used sharp white cheddar as my cheese. And I cooked it at 350 for about 45 minutes and it turned out really well.

20120130-082406.jpg

I ate about a third of that pan already.

I also made SUPER easy pulled BBQ chicken.

20120130-082421.jpg

You chop up a bell pepper, toss in half a bottle of BBQ sauce, 1/3 cup or so of buffalo sauce and a dash each of onion and garlic powder, then TADAAA!

It was a little on the spicy side, but I picked a sauce that didn’t have much sugar. I potentially could have added some truvia or something, but I didn’t think of that until just now. LOL It’s really not *that* spicy–it all depends on the sauce you pick.

I got in there and just attacked it with two forks after 5 hours on low heat. I had never “pulled” meat before, so this was interesting. My wrists got tired-haha!

20120130-082427.jpg

I cooked it for another hour. Pretty tasty stuff! Very “soul food” esque, without all the bad stuff.

 

OH!!! I entered the poster contest! GO vote for me!!!

Here is my final product:

At the last second, I decided to make the tour dates bold. Then I didn’t proof it before I submitted it. Therefore, one of them wrapped to the next line… so that looks awkward. Such is life. I kinda wanna make another one. I have another month to do it, so I might as well.

Here is my OOTD:

20120130-082446.jpg

The shirt and the sweater are both hand-me-overs from my mom. I was soooo jealous of this sweater the day she bought it, and she never wore it. So I bugged her about it frequently, thinking that if I could have it that I’d wear it all the time.

It’s got lots of shades of brown in it, so it doesn’t really go with much else, but I paired it with this dark gray shirt from Velvet and I thought it looked alright.

20120130-082451.jpg

I just can’t even believe how amazingly photogenic I am in this one.

Have a great day–one down, four to go!

4 thoughts on “Quinoa Casserole & Pulled BBQ Chicken

  1. polkadotrunner January 30, 2012 / 7:38 pm

    I love that you felt the need to say that we took naps separately 🙂 Thanks for an AWESOME 20! Sorry our evening plans didn’t pan out. Drinks at Hjem sometime?

    • fabulousinfayetteville January 30, 2012 / 7:57 pm

      Marlea and I used to run together when we lived in the dorm and be like “we ran, then we took a shower” ….”oh! ran together, showered seprately!” lol

      thank YOU for an awesome 20. ONE more before RACE DAYYYY!

  2. ilovefetacheese February 1, 2012 / 3:58 am

    Glad you liked the chicken!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

