TMJ diagnosis…

Sorry this pic is horribly blurry. But MAN OH MAN I finally scored a lululemon Journey Jacket on ebay. I am totally in love with it. I would wear it all day every day if that was socially acceptable. 20120202-161845.jpg

For real. I’m obsessed. I’ll post a better pic later.

So today I took off work this morning and went to Ft. Smith Smiles to talk to Dr. K about my TMJ issues. He specializes in TMJ cases and I was referred to him by my chiropractor whose dad is good friends with this guy. What is TMJ? I’m not sure. I think it’s this thing that makes your muscles ache and makes you bite down on your tongue all the time and keeps you from sleeping very well. Oh, and if you’re lucky like me then your jaw will loudly POP any time you open your mouth wide. Awesome.  So, apparently my gummy blue disc is out of place:

20120202-161852.jpg

Luckily for me, I’m not in a whole lot of pain. Just a dull ache. Lots of people suffer from headaches and things caused my TMJ so at least I’m not at that stage. But I kindof think my mom is.

20120202-161858.jpg

Mine is like that caterpillar right there.

Dr. K’s recommendation for me was to get a night guard from my dentist. Basically a TMJ “splint” to wear at night to hold my jaw away from where it sits at night currently. And although I have worn a “post-braces” night time retainer for the past 11 years, it doesn’t provide enough space to keep me my jaw where it needs to be at night. Obviously. This problem is only 6 months old.

I have no clue what this is going to cost.

20120202-161904.jpg

That chick has it rough–check out her bling engagement ring. Too bad this hairstyle isn’t cool anymore. I could SO rock it.

COMING SOON: I have suddenly found myself with a tiny bit of extra time–so instead of learning how to swim and preparing for the triathlon, I have decided to start CROSSFIT! Tonight I am only going for my second WOD. So yeah. I’ll post about it sooooon 🙂

One thought on “TMJ diagnosis…

  1. Nate February 3, 2012 / 2:36 pm

    That girl’s hairdo is rockin’!

Leave a Reply

