OMG Crossfit!

I went to crossfit. It’s everything I imagined and more 🙂

What’s crossfit, you ask? Well I will tell you. It’s the coolest thing ever. It’s based upon using big muscle groups and explosive movements to get you ripped fast, while making you strong as heck. They have their own lingo (the gym is called a “box” and the daily workout’s are called “WODs”) and their own diet (Paleo…) and they drinks protein powder and eat apples a lot. And i think they take pre-workout supps like Jack3d which kindof scares me, I’ve alway been leery of those. I have a long road ahead of me, though, so I may change my mind.

I went to the “box” on Thursday night, and since I was new, they let me skip the beginner foundations class that happened to be starting when I got there and let me do the WOD with the vets.

It was this:

WOD

‘raspberry sound’

Run 800M

30 Burpees

Run 800M

30 Burpee Box Jumps (games style)

Run 800M

30 Burpee Pullups

I totally finished the whole thing. It took me 23 minutes and 40 seconds and I kept losing count of my burpees so I did a few extra for good measure… I think-ha! I was SO happy that no one came to my spin class afterwards because I was SHOT.

20120204-184732.jpg

I am so happy! For some reason, just going the couple of times I have gone I am already super pumped and hooked and ready to rock!

20120204-184740.jpg

Today they had a friendly “box off” against a neighboring gym from Ft. Smith. I came to observe and ended up staying there for over 5 hours. Sucking up as much info as I could. It was awesome.

20120204-184759.jpg

The team workouts were really intense.

20120204-184820.jpg

Lots of people had trouble with “double unders” which is where you jump rope twice per leap. I have yet to try it. Those who COULD do it, were super badass. Like a whole room full of honey badgers.  😉

20120204-184832.jpg

I found Charity there. She teaches pump at a different location of the same Gym as me, so I’ve known her for about 2 and a half years. She’s always had an awesome body, but now she pretty much looks photoshopped. I’m so jealous.

20120204-184839.jpg

Look at those abs!

I haven’t been this excited about something in a long time. It’s like… even more hardcore than adventure racing, and even more badass than marathon running. It’s right up my alley. It makes me completely forget about my failing dating life, lol.

I’m just hoping I can do this while simultaneously training for a marathon, a triathlon, and an adventure race. Something tells me I’m gonna be juuuuuust fine.

2 thoughts on “OMG Crossfit!

  1. ilovefetacheese February 7, 2012 / 1:03 pm

    holy crap it looks like you’re at a serious box!! FUN!!! I’m glad you had a good time 🙂

    • fabulousinfayetteville February 7, 2012 / 3:17 pm

      Yeah!!! That crowd was only there because there was a box-off, but there are definitely some hardcore athletes walking around in there. I love it!!!

Leave a Reply

