Foundations

I’m not so sure that I can pull of the “knee socks” look. ALLLL the crossfit girls wear them. Which puzzled me, so I googled it and found out that it’s their way of trying to protect their shins so that if you are doing box jumps and you miss–maybe the effects aren’t as gory as they could be. I definitely saw some bloody shins on Saturday at the box off.

20120207-083822.jpg

(These pics are more results from me being sneaky on Saturday with my phone.)

20120207-083829.jpg

The rainbow brite socks are kindof amazing 🙂

So I went back last night and told Trevor that I’m in. So he told me to go ahead and go to the foundations class. At this gym, you have to attend 6 foundations classes before you can start doing the regular WODs. I didn’t know what to expect, but here is what I did last night:

1 hour of practicing deadlifts, hang cleans, power pulls, and front squats with PVC pipe (lol)

Then after that we did an easy WOD:

5 rounds for time of:

10 hang cleans with a 35 lb bar

10 pushups (chest hits the floor–Hurray for boobies?)

200 meter run

He told me my time, but I totally didn’t hear him. I think he said “8:23” but I’m not sure. I was the first female who finished, though. And the third person over all. I was coughing for at least half an hour after it was over!

I can’t wait to start doing the real WODs with everyone else! The trainers have both acknowledged the fact that I’m strong, so I feel pretty ready to give it my all. But one thing that I need help on is the timing for doing a power pull. I don’t know if the hip thrust and pull are supposed to happen simultaneously, or if it’s all supposed to be one swift motion.

thrust/ shrug/ jump/ pull

I feel like there is a slight delay there. I guess it will be different once I put some weight on the bar. I’m hoping I get the “muscle memory” thing going on, because right now I’m a tad confused.

I’m going back tonight. I wanna knock out all 6 foundations classes as soon as possible!

I have lots of things on my wishlist right now:

Gotta get some of those silly socks.

LOVE this necklace! And you can get it with a leather chain.

And yeah. There’s my big ticket item. It’s only $799 though, which isn’t too horrible for a road bike… Right?

I’m dog-sitting right now.

20120207-083843.jpg

My parents are on vacation at Big Cedar, so I’m watching the babies. They are actually pretty high maintenence. I love having their company, but I can’t wait to go back to my irresponsible ways.

20120207-083852.jpg

The oldest dog only eats chicken, and the other two expect to lick the plate clean aftwewards. They are eager beavers.

20120207-083900.jpg

Luckily I didn’t have to cook his chicken. My parents made it pretty easy on me.

Happy Tuesday!

6 thoughts on “Foundations

  1. Nick Momrik February 7, 2012 / 7:08 pm

    I hadn’t thought of the socks for protecting the shins on box jumps. I always thought they were for protecting the legs on rope climbs.

    • fabulousinfayetteville February 7, 2012 / 8:26 pm

      That kindof makes more sense… i mean it’s not like socks provide any cushion 😛

      Maybe we’re both wrong–perhaps they just think it looks cool.

  2. ilovefetacheese February 10, 2012 / 3:54 am

    GIRL you should see my shins….covered in bruises!!

    • fabulousinfayetteville February 10, 2012 / 9:46 pm

      I just read ur post! They are for DEADLIFTING! it makes SO much sense now!!! lol

  3. charitymarie February 29, 2012 / 5:03 am

    do you know where to buy the rainbow brite knee socks? i want some!

Leave a Reply

