Finally!

Finally done with the grueling marathon training. Kate, Jenn, and I ran our 22 mile run on Saturday morning. I am just really happy to be done. Still pretty burnt out on running, but I’m pretty psyched for Little Rock. I can’t wait to see Marlea and Brandy and get a ridiculously huge medal.

20120213-085121.jpg

It was really freaking cold that day. We wore vaseline on our faces, and all of our beverages froze… so we had stop at panera and thaw everything out and strategize about how to keep it un frozen. I had to drink as little as a I could stand, and it also heped to hold my bottle upside down to keep the bulk of the water in the place  that needed to stay un-frozen. It was about 12 degre when we started and in the upper 20’s when we finished. Good times.

Also FINALLY it snowed today!!! I don’t think it’s ever waited this long to snow. And it’s a bit disappointing because I’m totally at work right now. The roads are slushy, but not bad enough to keep the schools closed. If I taught a class today, I would still be teaching it. But i don’t. So HA!

20120213-085136.jpg

Grungy looking snow pics from outside my apartment.

20120213-085201.jpg

Snow is still falling now. Big fat flakes. It’s eventually supposed to turn to rain… the high is 34 degrees.

Crossfit–How it’s going.

20120213-085208.jpg

That’s me on the left…

lol jk! (not YET anyways) That’s Camille Leblanc-Bazinet, crossfit queen. On Thursday we learned how to kip for pullups. It’s not all intuitive like you’d think it would be. You have to throw your hips forward and your feet back and vice versa. But you’ll feel a feeling of weightlessness for half a second and that’s when you pull up.  I did… one… because I’m super weak in the upper body. But I did several of them with the band, it was cool! It’s a little tricky to me still, but I’m sure eventually it will be second nature.

Also we worked on double unders (jumproping with two revolutions per jump). I SUPER suck at them, but by the end of the class, I was actually pretty consistently able to hit them (but not in a row). I can hit every fourth jump. I would go “single, single, single, double.”

I have a crush on this rope:

Adorability.

The WOD we did was this:

10 wall balls

20 double-unders (aka DU)

30 air squats

40 sit ups

I hammered it out in 3:24 cuz im hella fast like that. Except I super sucked at wall balls. I was squatting down really low, but when I threw it up, it pretty much was falling shy of where it needed to be by about a foot. The harder I tried, the more it stayed the same…

 

 

*/EDIT/*

I later discovered that it helps when you throw a 14 pound ball instead of a men’s 20 lb ball. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Finally!

  1. Nate February 13, 2012 / 5:09 pm

    SNOW!!

    • fabulousinfayetteville February 13, 2012 / 5:25 pm

      Unfortunately the only thing different today is that they left the lights off at work. lol

Leave a Reply

