fruity pancakes

Alright so I’m waiting till after the marathon before I start making a huge effort towards going paleo. I am the queen of excuses, after all…
20120227-083851.jpg

But in all seriousness, I’m not sure how my body will act on it, so I’m just going to eat like I normally do till I get this big run under my belt. It’s only 6 days away!

Brandy came to stay with me for the weekend! She brought some stuff to make fruity pancakes so we did! The next morning, we made paleo pancakes. Except I didn’t get any pics. Which was good, they were pretty wimpy because we only had one egg.

20120227-083857.jpg

We also made banana pudding cupcakes (almost)!

20120227-083904.jpg

I literally hadn’t baked cupcakes in a bazillion years, so it was really fun.

They had a wafer in the bottom and a banana slice. Whipped cream topping. They were also supposed to be filled with pudding, but that didn’t work out.

I thought I could cheat the system and make pudding with almond milk… no dice.

“this instant jello pudding lists tetrasodium pyrophosphate & disodium phosphate as a thickening agents. TSPP & DSP reacts with the calcium in milk to result in increased viscosity of your pudding solution.”

So I guess almond milk lacks the calcium that dairy milk has… So now we know.

I got my new rogue jump rope in the mail, but I didn’t have a tiny enough screwdriver to change the rope length, so I’ll do that later. We went on my porch and practiced double-unders with the excess rope wrapped around our hands. Jump roping is even more fun now that I’m 25 than it was when I was 10, bahaha! I bet my neighbors love me.

It’s an awesome rope–it has ball-bearings in the handles which makes them move very fluidly. And it gives them a little weight,  which gives me more control. I tried a lot of ropes at the gym, and this one was by far my favorite–I tried the “again faster” rope and I tried the “RX” ropes. It’s just a shame it doesn’t come in some sort of neon pink sparkly glow-in-the-dark type of color.

After Brandy left Sunday, I went to crossfit half hoping that I was gonna do some sort of weight lifting workout, but lo and behold I was sentenced to doing the “open” workout: 7 minutes of burpees.

I got 91, which I was rather content with. I think I could break 100 if I really worked at it, but… uh… I don’t want to. lol

Pomeranian pic:

It’s like they do cute things on purpose for the attention.

2 thoughts on “fruity pancakes

Leave a Reply

