Little Rock Marathon II

Ran Little Rock yesterday. My body hates me today.

20120305-084829.jpg

The expo was much less creepy this year than last year, except that there weren’t really very many vendors and the goody bag had nothing in it but a race number, a timing chip, and a t-shirt. I guess all the money went into making the ridiculous 2-lb finisher medal.

I tried to park, but I almost got murdered by the trolley car and I ended up “nudging” the car in front of me, so I decided to just park somewhere that wasn’t parallel. MAN I feel like I should go take some sort of class where I can learn parallel parking and how to drive a stick. B/c I’m horrible at both of those.

That night we had a pre-race pasta party at Marlea’s Parents’ Neighbors’ lake house. Lots of pasta and ravioli and sauces and desserts. Then Kate and I slept at Brandy’s house, which was only about 5 minutes from where we were  planning to park at the race.

20120305-084843.jpg

The race start was a bit chiilly. It warmed up from about 42 degrees to 65 by the time we finished! Marlea, Trip and I stayed with the 4:10 pacers until we got to mile 19 or so–then we fell back. Jenn took off and left us in the dust around mile 6 or 7 and went and got 4:00 marathon. SUPER impressed with her. Most people don’t do that well on their first marathon ever.

20120305-084856.jpg

Luckily, I had Marlea and Trip the whole way (Trip–native of Memphis–needed a photo with Elvis on mile 22, lol). We pretty much all three were hitting walls and talking eachother into walking. Which was GOOD, because my calves were objecting. They kept spasming or something and it was making me stumble. It started around mile 17 and then just kept getting worse and worse. Eventually I had a double calf cramp that brought me screaming to the ground, scared out of my mind! I was really questioning how I was going to get to the finish line at that point which was still about a mile and a half away.

Marlea stayed back with me and helped me stay calm and keep going. Somehow between speedwalking and jogging, we finally made it.

20120305-084903.jpg

And these flowers managed to survive all the way home with me without water!

More marathon pictures coming soon!

Shoutout to Trip:

20120305-084909.jpg

I didn’t realise it at the time, but he originally sent me the first link to Jenna Marbles.

3 thoughts on “Little Rock Marathon II

  1. paleo list of foods April 25, 2013 / 9:30 pm

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to far added agreeable from you!
    By the way, how can we communicate?

Leave a Reply

