Pour Some Sugar– in my bloodstream.

Hey, there’s the capital!

OMG. If it wasn’t for them crazy socks, I would have noticed them super sweaty armpits you got there, ma’am.

On the bright side, these were my coolest finish photos ever.

Marlea stayed with me through my horrendous calf cramping-ness, so we got to have a fun finish together. And Trip hung back, too so we could get a tripple-whammy finisher photo.

& Here’s the REDONK finisher medal:
20120308-103836.jpg
THE END. Sortof.
Then on Tuesday (race was Sunday), I went home from work for my lunch break and had this super scary dizzy spell while I was eating lunch. I got all vertigo-tacular and had to lay on the floor. I called my mom and had her take me to the Dr. to draw blood. They checked my sugar, which was 99 (on it’s way back up I guess since it was at least an hour later at that point). The bottom line is Marathon running is NOT ideal for my body. The high carb diet that it requires is making my body expect to have to produce a whole truckload of insulin, which makes me have hyperinsulinemic hyogylcemia. Which sucks.
Here’s my first post about this revalation. Although I might be completely off, and maybe there is some other underlying …gremlin in my thyroid or whatever.
My game plan is to try to eat more protien and things that will give me long-lasting stable bloog sugar instead of this spiking and crashing BS. And I’m pretty sure that I need a legit hiatus from marathon training. No more marathons for at least a couple of years. My health is being compromised way too much, and it’s just not worth it.
I still have my catskill mountain national adventure race coming up in October, so I should attempt to sustain decent endurance abilities for that, but this diet is going to *have* to go low carb… as soon as I can figure out where the heck to start. And I’m hoping that between crossfit, mid-length runs and some good mountain bike rides that I will be good to go for that race.
I have been dying to get back to crossfit all week–today is the first time I’ve felt “normal” (functional?) but it’s a rest day. I almost planned to go last night till I looked at the WOD the day before:

Come back to crossfit b/c I’m sick of running to RUN? Aha, no. I’ll just take that extra rest day, thanks.

4 thoughts on “Pour Some Sugar– in my bloodstream.

  1. Nate March 8, 2012 / 4:53 pm

    Sorry to hear about your hypoglycemic episode! 😦
    Hope that the more stable diet improves things for ya!

    • fabulousinfayetteville March 8, 2012 / 6:28 pm

      Gonna try Paleo– as soon as my lazy self can sit down and figure out how to shop and cook for it!

  2. polkadotrunner March 9, 2012 / 2:12 pm

    Oh no! Feel better! Maybe when Sharon graduates we can all do another marathon 🙂

Leave a Reply

