Paleo Blueberry Muffins

I decided that i was *dying* to try a paleo “bread” recipe. And since I have a muffin pan but not a bread pan, the obvious choice was for me to make Paleo Blueberry Muffins!

I had to purposefully choose a recipe that did not call for coconut flour, because they don’t sell it at my co-op.

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups almond meal
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1 cup blueberries
Preheat overn to 300 degrees.
20120309-081938.jpg
Are you ready for how easy this is? Whisk the first 5 ingredients together. Fold in the blueberries. Scoop them into lined muffin cups. Bake for 30-40 min. Mine were totally done after 30, though.


20120309-081945.jpg

They’re like regular muffins. Only they make me fuller, and taste a little nuttier. Oh and they’re a bit denser, which I like.

Be careful when you take them out and let them cool because I burned my tongue on a blueberry and it’s still healing 😦 Wooops! haha.

Someone did the nutrition breakdown:

Per muffin
Cals: 182
Total fat: 13g
Sat fat: 1.2g
Cholesterol: 46mg
Sodium: 136mg
Potassium: 33mg
Total carbs: 12g
Fiber: 2.8g
Sugar: 8g
Protein: 7g

Woops. I ate four this morning… ohwell. I could have stopped after two, but I… didn’t.

Going back to crossfit tonight! YAY first time back in over A WEEK.

WOD

2rds

18 HPC

49 Situps

18 HPC

49 DU (100 Singles)

A)135/85

B)115/75

C)95/65

That looks like a good place to start because it doesn’t involve running! Hopefully I survive the DU, though. It will be my first time using my new jump rope.

I got my Progenex order in the mail.

20120309-083656.jpg

They were bragging all over my email and facebook about “making room in my cabinet” for a free gift they have included since the product I ordered was backordred. It was a shaker cup, lol! I was secretly hoping for a free sample of the new flavors, but I’ll take a shaker cup!

7 thoughts on “Paleo Blueberry Muffins

  1. Corina March 9, 2012 / 7:07 pm

    I love anything with blueberries in and the almond meal must give them a lovely nutty flavour.

  2. Kate S. March 10, 2012 / 9:15 pm

    What’s a shaker cup?

Leave a Reply

