Crockpot Curry Chicken

I had CEREAL for breakfast!

20120326-083959.jpg

I borrowed Christina’s paleo cereal recipe.

Only I wasn’t thrifty enough to make my own coconut milk. I still really need to buy a vitamix blender. I just used almond milk instead. Even though it has carageenan… I will be happy to make my own. I just need a stinking blender! Dah! Maybe I’ll ask for one for my birthday. Joint present?

Went to Burger Life:

20120326-084011.jpg

It was super easy to get it paleo style. Onions, mushrooms, avocado! There are even roasted veggies underneath the patty. Only I cheated a got some feta. Baby steps, y’all.

Made Juli (from PaleOMG)’s Brazilian Curry Chicken.

20120326-084018.jpg

I love curry. Love love love it! A lot of people don’t, so this recipe may not be for everyone.

You’ll need:

  • 1.5-2 lbs chicken, throw in a mixture of boneless, skinless thighs AND breasts
  • 3/4 cup coconut milk
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tablespoon ground ginger
  • 4-6 tablespoons curry powder (I actually DID use the whole jar….)
  • 2 bell peppers, chopped into 1 cubes (i used yellow and red)
  • 1 yellow onion, thinly sliced
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 cup chicken broth
Add in the coconut milk, tomato paste, garlic, ginger, curry powder, salt and pepper and whisk together.
 20120326-084033.jpg

Add in peppers and onions.

20120326-084038.jpg

Next, add in chicken and pour broth over the chicken. (Yes, I splattered it on the wall… and I was a tad worried at this point that my chicken might not fit!)

20120326-084044.jpg

Mix it all up so that the chicken is coated with flavor. Cover and cook at low for 6-8 hours or high for 4-5 hours.

20120326-084054.jpg

Distribute into tupperware cups for later, yay!

20120326-084100.jpg

I haven’t had the chance to eat it yet, but I tasted a little piece  while I was dishing into the the tupperwares and it was SPICY! Apparently a lot of curry goes… a long way… but I’m a big baby when it comes to spiciness.

We played another kickball game.

20120326-084116.jpg

We didn’t win, but I had the bestest socks.

5 thoughts on “Crockpot Curry Chicken

  1. ilovefetacheese March 27, 2012 / 4:00 pm

    YUMMY!! i want to try that curry too. Those shorts look awesome!!

    • fabulousinfayetteville March 27, 2012 / 7:50 pm

      Thanks! make it with “yellow” curry instead of “red” and it won’t be all crazy-spicy! seriously mine made me sweat! lol

Leave a Reply

