Paleo Endeavors

I’m sorry… I appologise in advance, but this entire entry is about food. That is what is consuming my whole brain right now. I can’t really help it. I feel AMAZING though! For the first time since before college, I’m actually eating non pre-packaged crap. And for the first time…. ever… I am intentionally not ingesting dairy (aside from a little sprinkle of feta on my salad).

I made paleo blueberry muffins again! They’re so darn EASY!

Mix it up:

20120328-194411.jpg

Stick it in muffin cups:

20120328-194417.jpg

Bake it:

20120328-194423.jpg

Also wanted some (more) comfort food, so I made some nuggets!

20120328-194438.jpg

I didn’t read the directions, so i just threw everything in the bowl and took a picture! Bahaha. Then I scooped out all the coconut flour and used it properly. As a batter.

20120328-194501.jpg

20120328-194448.jpg

20120328-194454.jpg

I’ve certainly had to clean my kitchen a lot more often.

20120328-194507.jpg

Okay so the dipping sauce called for “coconut aminos” which I could NOT believe that I actually found. So when I opened the jar it poofed at me and fizzed. Which made me feel like it had botulism or something, so I got scared and didn’t use it. How much do you think that product turns over in Fayetteville, Arkansas? No, really?

I even emailed the company… and while I was doing so I noticed where it said on the jar that it might fizz when you first open it. Woops. Fail.

20120328-194516.jpg

They still offered to send me a new bottle, though. So I’m pretty excited about it because that stuff isn’t cheap! Here’s the finished nuggets and their dip:

20120328-194523.jpg

(I ended up using braggs amino spray instead of the coconut aminos.)

Paleo cereal for breakfast:

20120328-194535.jpg

I got crafty and added some blackberries.

Then for lunch, I had my physical therapy appointment so I had to grab lunch on the go: I got a Jasons’ Deli salad bar paleo style–grilled chicken. Except I added some feta. I’m only human, okay!? But I managed to resist the chocolate mousse and the ice cream! Woohooo!

20120328-194543.jpg

Tonight for dinner I had:

20120328-194609.jpg

Curry chicken and stir fry veggies (in a microaveable bag at walmart!)

20120328-194602.jpg

You just dump em in the skillet with some coconut oil and add whatever spices you feel ike 🙂 I was brave enough to use the coconut aminos this time, haha!

I sortof feel like I should buy a decent camera instead of using my phone. Whatev.

How’s crossfit going?

Oh! I am so glad you asked! I still havent tried snatches (lack of opportunity), but I ran again last night for the first time in like three weeks. It went alright. I am getting better at keeping count (It’s been a little tricky in the past) and I feel like I am pretty much getting awesomer and awesomer at the WODs. I always lift either B or A weight. I did my first (padded) handstand pushup, I am getting even better at kipping pullups, I am the fastest wall-baller in my group–I did 75 of them in 3:02.

I’m pretty sure I am freaking in love with the program. I feel super strong and I can already see more definition in my shoulders–and it’s only been two-ish months? I took the liberty of taking “before” pictures. Give me about 6 months and I might get brave enough to post them with some “after” pics 😉

Oh, and my weight isn’t changing. Not that I expected it to, but just thought I’d throw that out there.

(p.s. I stopped posting my WODs on here because I figured anyone reading this would find it pretty boring. If you’re curious about what I’m doing then check out my box’s website. It’s updated every day with a new WOD. And I haven’t missed one since the marathon, so you can bet your sweet patootie that I’m doin’ it!)

*(p.s.s. I reserve the right to post about a WOD anyway if I happen to feel like it.)

7 thoughts on “Paleo Endeavors

  1. Bob March 29, 2012 / 1:45 am

    You cray cray girl!

  2. polkadotrunner March 29, 2012 / 1:08 pm

    Girl, I love hearing about your wods 😉 Glad you feeling amazing! Miss running with you though!!!

    • fabulousinfayetteville March 29, 2012 / 1:49 pm

      I’m gonna suck it up and aim for running with you girls on wednesday morning next week, wheeee! I miss you too!!

  3. Marlea March 29, 2012 / 1:42 pm

    I love all of this cooking that you’re doing! You should go to the Farmer’s Market on the square this Saturday and get some in-season produce to experiment with 🙂

    • fabulousinfayetteville March 29, 2012 / 1:51 pm

      Good idea! There should be some good stuff there since it’s been so warm.

      Craziness–my apartment complex’s pool is already open!

  4. polkadotrunner March 30, 2012 / 7:07 pm

    REALLY ??? Make sure you feel up to it, but I can’t waaaaait! 🙂

Leave a Reply

