A Strange Case of…

First of all, I have to say this: go get Halestorm’s new album! ASASP!

I don’t know why the bonus tracks aren’t uncluded in the digital EP that I purchased, but whatever. At least I can listen on YouTube.

Onward to my battle against the squash:

I cooked another PaleOMG recipe–Garlic Chicken Butternut Squash Lasagna. I really like Juli’s stuff because it’s ingredients that I can actually find. And it’s mostly all stuff I can actually do without ruining my kitchen, or accidentally poisoning myself.

I don’t know about the average person, but I somehow managed to make it to 25 before I have ever personally tried to gut my very own butternut squash. I did my homework and peeled it before I started. Then the directions said to “cut into thin strips”. I exhausted every single sharp untensil in my entire kitchen. I even sacrificed my thumb. All I came up with was a huge pile of orange crap.

20120410-090630.jpg

I didn’t have coconut milk (subbed almond), I had the wrong sized pan, and I bought the wrong “tomato sauce”. THEN, to make matters worse, I didn’t have enough time to bake the darn thing because I needed to go to crossfit and then Easter dinner after that (where I totally killed my paleo diet). SO it had to sit in my fridge with half-cooked chicken in it for about 5 hours before I finally came home and baked the stupid thing.

20120410-090637.jpg

Do normal bloggers blog about their cooking fails? If i didn’t, I’d have nothing else to write about…

I still ended up eating it over three different meals (I still have some left for lunch today).

20120410-090650.jpg

Like my other masterpieces, it’s super ugly, but actually doesn’t taste half bad. Thanks to the roasted garlic.

20120410-090656.jpg

Well, and butternut squash is pretty lovely on it’s own. But we’re definitely not calling this a lasagna. We’ll just call it baked junk. I’m totally never making it again. πŸ˜€

My non-paleo Easter indulgences:

Artichoke dip, goat cheese, roasted corn, turkey stuffing, mashed potatoes and gravy, green bean casserole, reeses egg, peach pie, cheesecake cupcake, jellybeans.

I woke up with crusty boogers in my nose the next morning, and I’m totally blaming the sugar for screwing up my immunity to allergy side-effects!

Crusty boogers. I’m 5.

But I’ll be turning 6 in 3 and a half weeks!

One thought on “A Strange Case of…

  1. fabulousinfayetteville August 24, 2012 / 11:17 am

    Surely this happens to everyone at some point or another when they start cooking a lot! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

