Sugar Detox & Brussels Sprouts

I spent most of my weekend catching up on sleep.

 BUT I also did the following:

  • cleaned my entire apartment (FINALLY)
  • had a little social time
  • stalked my box’s facebook page while they kicked butt at north central crossfit regionals in chicago (12th place!)
  • bought a TON of super healthy-tastic groceries
  • contemplated cleaning out my car
  • watched my sister’s husband quarterback a football game (he is talented!)
  • subbed mindi’s spin and pump classes
  • kicked my own butt at crossfit
  • choked myself out with a barbell.
What?! Yes. I was doing 95lb hanging power cleans, and on the VERY FIRST rep, I apparently thought that I could just throw the barbell up and then catch it with my neck. Actually, it totally worked that way, except I couldn’t breathe for a second and I ended up with a big ugly bruise on my collarbones. And some scrapes on my neck. Sexy.
Speaking of which–I REALLY need to be more careful at crossfit! I was doing pullups yesterday (yes, again…ugh) and I cracked my chin on the bar. It feels pretty bruised. I am SO lucky that my tongue wasn’t in the way, because I would have bit it OFF! My teeth cracked together so hard that I was sure I had chipped one. But I didn’t. Scared the bejeeezus out of me, though.
So let’s talk food.

20120521-082412.jpg

Sushi at Meiji. Chirashi and a Cobalt Roll.

I really liked these spinach sweet potato egg nests from PaleOMG.

20120521-082422.jpg

Ew. I need to clean my oven.

20120521-082432.jpg

20120521-082438.jpg

Here are mom’s sunflower nut butter rendition of Simple Blueberry Muffins:

20120521-082448.jpg

Lots of blurry photos this week. Oops, ohwell.

20120521-082454.jpg

They were less greasy than the ones I made, which was cool. I wanna make them again with almond butter and see how that goes… one day.

Yesterday was the 2nd annual Block street Block party.

20120521-082509.jpg

 I waited at the crepe stand for about an hour before I finally got my veggie crepe. Apparently they had underestimated the amount of food it would take to feed the hungry people on Block street. I was determinted to have my carbs and cheese, so I sat and waited the whole time.

20120521-082520.jpg

20120521-082525.jpg

Wanda came to say hi. She really wanted to come inside but I didn’t let her. Sorry, Wanda.

20120521-082538.jpg

Well, I decided to try the 21 day sugar detox.

Basically I won’t be having anything sweet for the next 21 days. Not even fake sugar. It’s going to suck.

Pretty sure that while I’m on this thing, this stuff is  going to be even more like crack:

20120521-082459.jpg

I seriously could eat grind-it-yourself almond butter 8 times a day.

I pre-cooked some stuff last night so that I’ll have sugar-free food readily available at my disposal so that I won’t be as likely to stuff toxic marshmallows into my face. One of these items was: Gwenyth Paltrow’s oilive oil, lemon brussels sprouts. Super simple!

All you do is chop them in half:

20120521-082544.jpg

Put them in the pan facedown with some oil (I added my usual spoonful of coconut oil).20120521-082550.jpg

after about 5 minutes, flip em over.

20120521-082554.jpg

Wait 3 minutes. Then stick them in a bowl, drizzle with olive oil, salt, lemon juice, stir it up.

20120521-082600.jpg

If you want them to be less gross/soggy later, then wait for them to cool down before you shove them in the fridge and trudge off to bed.

Breakfast:

3 eggs, 100 calorie guacamole packet, applegate farms spinach chicken sausage.

Snack:

packet of raw almonds.

Lunch:

Brussels sprouts + turkey burger patties.

Dinner:

Spaghetti Mealball Bites

Snack (“dessert”):

Dairy free chocolate mousse pudding:

I threw all of this into my super crappy blender. My avocado wasn’t quite as ripe as it should have been, but I went for it anyway. my blender got stuck on it A LOT and I could smell its icky burning plastic motor smell. Annoying: I was able to stab the avocado with a spoon, but my blender blades couldn’t hack it. Literally. Hamilton beach spout blender, circa 2005–walmart. It was about $25 bucks. I’m ready for a blendtec or a vitamix.

p.s. I sampled it. It tastes like it needs about a cup of sugar added…

Anyways, 1 down–20 more days to go!

7 thoughts on “Sugar Detox & Brussels Sprouts

  1. Nate May 21, 2012 / 2:28 pm

    Block street party was fun!!

      • Nate May 22, 2012 / 2:14 pm

        Well, I went at around 11:30, so it wasn’t too hot yet. When I went to a wedding later in a full suit and then a reception where I had to sit outdoors….yeah, I was way hot.

      • fabulousinfayetteville May 22, 2012 / 3:07 pm

        Ack!!! Well, people may not have taken it too well if you had opted to wear a dress. lol

  2. jenniechris May 22, 2012 / 12:40 am

    Glad I got to see you. I should do a sugar detox–it’d be fantabulous! Though, I have been cutting waaay back. Perhaps I’ll cut back a bit more and commiserate with you. 🙂

    • fabulousinfayetteville May 22, 2012 / 1:26 pm

      I could definitely use some support! And it’s good that you’ve been cutting back–i think that makes the detox a lot easier to stick to. But I don’t know… this is only day 2 😉

Leave a Reply

