Memorial Day Weekend

It was great. GOSH I am in a good mood. Life is good. Things are looking pretty fan-freaking-tastic! The only thing better than a 3-day weekend is a 4-day work week 🙂

20120529-083453.jpg

I don’t know why my apartment complex goes through the trouble of flying a flag on Memorial Day when they’re not going to fly it at half mast. Pretty sure that’s how that’s supposed to work on this holiday, no?

20120529-083504.jpg

I found this random tree right outside my building and it looked like tropical paradise, so I took a picture.

So I definitely spent the whole 3-day weekend playing outside and wondering why I wasn’t constantly fantasizing about cake. On Saturday I went to the Wounded Warrior Fundraiser put on by Crossfit NWA.

It might have been one of the longest workouts of my life! Luckily I was on a team of 4 people, so we divvied it up into 4 equal parts. The word “divvied” looks ridiculous, but i just googled it and it’s really a word.

Thankfully I ran into  Bud, and he had room on his team for me. Yay!

Our 4-person team:

I had so much dirt on me from doing burpees in the mud.

I got to go wakeboarding on Sunday. It was crowded, but right around 7:00 the water was almost perfect. Oh, and if anyone who is reading this enjoys tubing–please, please, please go tube in a channel elsewhere from where people are trying to wakeboard! You’re just messing up the smooth water. Tubing doesnt require smooth water. Wakeboarding does–so be respectful! Some of these wakeboarders have waited all day for nice water. And now that it’s here, don’t let your boat be an obstacle between them and their dream of landing some sweet tricks 🙂 Anyway, I’m pretty surprised by the fact that I’m not sore from wakeboarding. Has crossfit made me wakeboard-fit??? I’ll take it. Or maybe I’m just so used to being sore that I can’t feel it anymore.

Sugar Detox update

I have only screwed up once. I ate seaweed salad last Friday at Meiji. I didn’t eat the rice, but I didn’t realise that the seaweed salad had sugar in it. Also, soy sauce isn’t paleo, so I messed up with that too. I’m just going to have to skip the next two “sushi-fridays”. 😦

Sugar free comfort food:

20120529-083512.jpg

(This is okay on the athlete adaptation)

20120529-083519.jpg

Turkey sausage, coconut flour “muffins”, poached eggs.

20120529-083533.jpg

Athlete-friendly pumkin pancakes. One of them esploded 🙂

20120529-083538.jpg

Soooooo good.

I hate Wal Mart right now. They have all the best fruit and all you can smell is peaches when you walk in.

20120529-083548.jpg

Rainer cherries are in season right now. And they better stay there for at least two more weeks or else I’m going to strangle someone. I really miss fruit a LOT.

Here’s the breakfast I pretty much have every day:

20120529-083553.jpg

3 whole scrambled eggs and a 100-calorie pack of guacamole.

Usually accompanied by a turkey sausage. But today I ate it with a big ol chunk of fresh mozzarella because I added a little dairy back into my life. I was feeling really deprived without sugar, so dairy it is. NOTE: I am not craving sugar, I’m just seeing it and missing it. Oh, and I had a steak last night. Pretty sure it wasn’t grass fed, but we had family dinner night and I decided to stop being complicated and just eat what everyone else was eating. My sister made this freaking AMAZING sweet potato casserole that is sugar-detox-friendly. I need to make it and then post about it. Soooon.

I am straight up losing a toenail right now.

Oh, and one more thing: I get to go see Aerosmith tomorrow night with a boy. What?!? Yep. Don’t be jealous.

5 thoughts on “Memorial Day Weekend

  1. robfiasco @ run2thehills May 29, 2012 / 3:12 pm

    wow! your weekend was wayyyy more exciting than mine.

    Aerosmith eh? nice! they must have quite the catalog of songs to pick from. my favorite would probably be eat the rich or love in an elevator. least favorite? pink. i despise that song.

    have a great week!

    • fabulousinfayetteville May 29, 2012 / 3:30 pm

      Yeah! i needed a good long weekend like that–i forgot to even mention the pool party I was at yesterday! I got sunburned, but I left early bc I was the only person who wasn’t drinking. Blerg. lol

      Let’s see… my fave aerosmith song is probably.. oh, crap. i can’t pick one. Sweet Emotion is fun. I don’t hate any of them, but I can see where you’re coming from with “pink”. I’m probably going to act like a total ham and sing along with all of the songs… most likely.

      • fabulousinfayetteville May 29, 2012 / 3:42 pm

        Actually favorite one might be “Dude ( looks like a lady)” hahaha!

  2. polkadotrunner May 29, 2012 / 4:16 pm

    Um – we’d better get updates on Wednesday morning about this date! 🙂

Leave a Reply

