Movies and Patterns

I feel inspired to do a random rant!!! I had an epiphany yesterday– I totally figured out why I don’t go to movies anymore! (minus that fact that I’m single and boring and the fact that movie tickets are stupid expensive)

It’s because I don’t have TIME. And when I do, the last thing I wanna do is go sit on my butt for 2 hours. I do that 40 hours a week, so I like to do *stuff* on my time off. My favorite thing is working out, but my second favorite thing is sleeping. otherwise, I am shopping and cooking. Also, movies are sucky things to do on dates because you end up hardly getting to know the person you are with at all because talking is rude, and holding hands is awkward.

Plus if you get hungry you’re screwed because all the food in there is diabetes.

I probably spend about 2-3 hours total per week watching tv (on my computer). Which is weird because growing up, it was easily 3 hours a day or more. Unfortunately I spend a copious amount of time on my computer, though… I actually just wanted to use the word copious.

My favorite shows right now:

  • True Blood starts this Sunday!!! Eeeeeeee!
  • Don’t trust the B– in Apartment 23
  • GCB
  • The New Girl (its actually just ‘okay’ honestly)
  • And I totally will watch dumb stuff like Family Guy and The Simpsons bc they’re easy to find on hulu and don’t require me to watch a whole season is order to know what’s going on.

I like to let brainless shows on hulu keep me company while I eat dinner.

Speaking of dinner–my creative cooking skills are lagging lately. So is my budget… I keep having grilled chicken, vegetables, eggs, and sweet potato chips. This week I will be making some oldies: turkey burgers, cauliflower mashed potatoes, broccoli onion mushroom stir fry, caprese salad, brussels sprouts, more grilled chicken, mixed greens salad with sun dried tomatoes and homemade dressing, butternut squash puree. Hurray for green apples with almond butter! Keeping me sane. 5 days left of sugar free!

lol, maybe that’s why I melt in the rain.

I love lululemon, but I ordered this tank top thinking it would be super cute:

Totally cute, right? Ok, here’s what it looked like on me:

FAILLLLL. Flower pastie boobies and a flower belly button to match? No thanks. I sent it back. But I probably could have sold it on ebay instead for a pretty penny because it sold out from the website really fast. Ohwell, I wouldn’t feel right because whoever wears that is going to look like a duck. Blergh. I was excited about wearing it with bright colored shorts, but… yeah.. ew.

 I forgot to sleep last night. I woke up at 2:30 and I was like “OMG lululemon upload! Wheee!” So I got these:

People are calling them the “dalmation” shorts. But I like them anyway–although I will probably end up with the dots spelling out the word “poop” on my butt or something.

Random kickball pic from like a month ago:

I came straight from crossfit, so I wasn’t wearing my jersey yet. Woops.

Speaking of crossfit–I beat my filthy 50 time by over a minute last night–under 30 minutes (29:42)! Even though it was 90-something degrees in there! Woohoo! Little victories.

14 thoughts on “Movies and Patterns

  1. ~jenniferlynn June 5, 2012 / 10:24 am

    Love that you posted a pic of your outfit-fail! Hehe..
    I love shopping, too, and I swear it’s like half of the things I buy end up getting returned because they just didn’t look quite right compared to the model online 😛 I’ve been having an issue buying cute workout tanks cause half of the time I end up getting stuck in them.. but I guess that’s something that happens when you’re shopping Target/TJ Maxx/Marshall’s clearance racks.. 😉

    • fabulousinfayetteville June 5, 2012 / 10:32 am

      Hahaha! I can totally relate to that! I’ve decided to completely forego the “built in sports bra” thing because there’s just NO way that my tank and correct sports bra size will ever be fused together in a flattering/functional manner.

      • ~jenniferlynn June 5, 2012 / 10:42 am

        Clearly you’ve taken a liking to lululemon.. I have a hard time justifying the price for a tank top! Do you think it’s really worth it?

      • fabulousinfayetteville June 5, 2012 / 11:07 am

        YES– and here’s why: excellent resale value if you ever get tired of it! Even if it’s like 4 years old, someone will buy it on ebay! It’s crazy. Also, it’s just really high quality, great fitting, durable stuff. I usually avoid the yoga stuff–I get cool racerbacks, speed shorts, occasional running crops, and sports bras. Oh, and jackets for the winter. Go to an actual lulu store if you can, so you can try on lots of things nad get a good feel for what you like.

      • ~jenniferlynn June 5, 2012 / 11:15 am

        I’ll consider it.. hehe.
        Apparently there is only one store around here, about 45 minutes away 😦

  2. robfiasco @ run2thehills June 5, 2012 / 10:58 am

    i don’t go to movies because they’re too long. i prefer the 24 minute sitcom sans commercials (just wanted to use the word sans). it seems like they keep getting longer. i’m sorry but I can’t sit in the same position for 2 1/2 hours without getting distracted.

    what is GCB? do I know this? am I just drawing a blank? let me google it. ok good. never heard of it.

    i would have never noticed the issues with that shirt until you pointed it out. haha. awesome.

    i need to finish Season 4 of True Blood.

    • fabulousinfayetteville June 5, 2012 / 11:09 am

      Lucky for me, my parents have HBO and only live about 3 miles away from me. I will totally be camping out at their house on sunday nights…. hopefully things don’t get too awkward. That show can be raunchy!

      sans serif.
      (i was jealous)

      • robfiasco @ run2thehills June 5, 2012 / 11:31 am

        i was able to obtain a login/pw for HBO Go. Do they update on the app as the season progresses? I hope so.

        I don’t think I would watch that show with my parents. haha. although it might be rather amusing.

        sanskrit
        (see what i did there?)

  3. jenniechris June 5, 2012 / 9:59 pm

    Hehehehe! Boobie shirt. I LOLed at that. Mostly because I would probably not have that problem, nor would I have noticed it if you hadn’t pointed it out!

    • fabulousinfayetteville June 6, 2012 / 8:20 am

      Hahaha! it was all I could see when i looked at the shirt, so yes… it went back. FAST!

  4. Kate June 6, 2012 / 4:23 pm

    lol, that tank is hilarious, fear of that exact thing happening put me off ordering it online!

Leave a Reply

