Goldfish Eyes

So much for the float trip. Instead, my body decided to freak out on Friday night during the WOD.

First of all, let me just say that I have no allergies whatsoever. Any time I have ever filled out a medical chart, I’ve always checked the “none” box. I have reacted poorly to certain stimulus, but for the most part–nada. I can eat everything and have no reason to be deathly afraid of insect stings or any drugs.

Friday night I had my first confrontation with Anaphylactic shock.

So I’m about 15 minutes in to a really intense workout when I realize that my eyes kinda feel weird. I’m somewhat concerned, but I press on… Until my right eye is completely swollen shut. I throw my jump rope down and jog to the bathroom and take a look in the mirror. I gasp out loud and the bobble-eyed freak staring back at me.

20120624-155148.jpg

Then I start to panic. I go straight to Trevor and tell him what’s going on. His wife Holland asks me lots of allergy questions and goes and gets me some
Benadryl. I call my mom to come get me. The whole thing was bizzare!!!

I googled and found an article about food dependent athletic induced anaphylaxis. I had sushi for lunch. It had plenty of crab in it. I’ve never been allergic to shellfish before, but never say never. But if it WAS food-dependent, that is strange. Because I had lunch around 1 and was crossfitting by 5:45–neary 5 hours later.

I had red itchy skin that didn’t last long. My breathing never became difficult. Basically it was 90% in my eyes, with a bit of nasal cavity swelling too and a slight skin rash.

I didn’t go to the doctor. I cant afford it because I’m busy paying off the $360 I owe to the physical therapist who did nothing for my ankle. I kindof wish I had gone anyways–maybe the swelling would have gone down faster.

When I woke up the next morning and my eyes were still huge, I knew I wasn’t going to be able to float. I was super sad 😦 I have been looking forward to it for a while. It was the perfect chance to get to know some of my fellow crossfitters outside of the gym. Blerg. But I got to hang out with mom all day, which I haven’t done in a long time. And I got lots of puppy love from the poms.

20120624-160531.jpg

Bottom line: If your eyes feel like they’re about to explode while you are running/WODing–STOP and get some Benadryl. And make sure it’s not a weekend so you won’t miss your float trip.

Pretty sure I’m going to be paranoid from now on. “Whats that itch? Do my eyes feel swollen? Is my throat closing up?!” ugh.

16 thoughts on “Goldfish Eyes

  1. ilovefetacheese June 24, 2012 / 8:18 pm

    OMG I’ve heard of exercise induced shellfish allergy…IT SOUNDS crazy but one of my best friends has it. We were at prom dancing (9 years lol), and her eyes started puffing out…she had shrimp for dinner. She’s been diagnosed too! GET WELL SOON!!

    • fabulousinfayetteville June 25, 2012 / 8:37 am

      It happened to her at PROM? Ack! Sounds like this type of thing only happens when you least want it to. i’m glad you posted this, though, I was starting to wonder if I was the only one! It’s just so random…

  2. polkadotrunner June 25, 2012 / 8:20 am

    OMG! how’s your eye doing now??? Only you, Lisa 🙂

    • fabulousinfayetteville June 25, 2012 / 8:39 am

      I’m finally back to normal, but I’m officially afraid to eat shellfish or work out. I went on a short jog yesterday and kept stopping to check my eyes! Hopefully it was just a one-time fluke. But I will definitely be avoiding shellfish when I have sushi from now on…

  3. Marlea June 25, 2012 / 8:49 am

    Oh Lisa! I can’t believe that happenned! I’m so glad it wasn’t extremely serious though. Dude, I’m thinking…Kitty and Wiggins faces from freshman year 🙂

    • fabulousinfayetteville June 25, 2012 / 8:52 am

      Hahaha–I almost forgot about that! Yeah, i stopped panicking once I realised that my throat wasn’t closing up. But I was NOT a happy camper.

  4. robfiasco @ run 2 the hills June 25, 2012 / 9:37 am

    omg your eye looks crazy! a couple years back I started getting something similar after taking aspirin. only my right eye swells and my nasal cavities swell up too. so now I have to be careful what I take. never had it before. so weird.

    glad you’re okay! 🙂

    • fabulousinfayetteville June 25, 2012 / 9:44 am

      Yeah it was weird–my right eye was considerably worse than my left eye.

      I just hate that I missed the float trip… I’m gawking at albums from facebook and I’m super bummed that I had to miss all the fun. Suck. I’m the “shady person” who signs up, pays the money, and then doesnt show up for the fun. Fail.

      • robfiasco @ run 2 the hills June 25, 2012 / 10:05 am

        awww. i know you were excited about floating in the new outfit! haha.

        at least you had a legit reason for missing it. unlike the people that did that to me for my mud run. they still haven’t given me a reason while they bailed on me.

      • fabulousinfayetteville June 25, 2012 / 10:09 am

        Maybe the forgot to train. Or decided that they’d rather use the night before as a fake bachelor party. Who knows…

  5. Mac October 9, 2014 / 1:31 pm

    Hello
    I am thinking about taking prohormones, do you think this is good idea for advanced bodybuilder like me?
    People are satisfied with the results after prohormones cycles, just google
    for – 100% pure muscles without side effects – worth a try?

Leave a Reply

