Real Food???

Pretty sure that I’m gonna do the “whole 30” during the month of July.

What the heck is that?! It’s not the sugar detox (although that one pretty much made me realise how huge on an impact food choice has on my body). In a nutshell, the whole 30 is “no added sugar, no alcohol, no grains, no legumes, no dairy, and no white potatoes”. Pretty much if it tastes like a party–it’s out.

I bought “the book“–one copy for Zach (who never updates his blog). I’m pretty sure that I’ve recruited him to suffer with me 🙂 Misery loves company.

20120626-103323.jpg

I really hate the thought of going without these things:

  • yogurt
  • honey
  • cheese – feta, mozzarella, goat, parmesan, brie, cheddar. Life without cheese is… suck.
  • rice – a month without sushi? Sounds horrible.
  • summer recreational beverages
  • the convenience of ordering whatever I want at restaurants.
I’m sure there are more, but that’s all I got off the top of my head. Contemplating starting this shindig AFTER the 4th of July holiday.
Here are the reasons I am going to SUCCEED:

  1. I’m already scaled wayyyyy back on the packaged food consumption. Minus Terra chips:
  2. I am used to cooking ALL three of my meals every day.
  3. I’ve been without dairy for nearly a month before.
  4. I’ve been without ANY sugar for 21 days and I’m still alive to talk about it.
  5. I have access to a decent collection of non-intimidating recipes that are compatible with the madness of this detox.
  6. I’ve been dabbling pretty seriously with paleo eating for about three months now.
  7. I’m extremely stubborn.
I hate to admit it, but I really hope I lose some weight this time. I lost a couple pounds during the sugar detox, but nothing stayed off. When I started eating “normally” again, I quickly shot up and stuck at about 5 lbs more than I was when I started (I had fruit binges and had garlic bread and pizza–totally on purpose. I felt like I had “earned” it for some reason). And I know this isn’t about weight loss (it’s about HEALTH), but I can’t help but want it–all my pants are too tight. I am planning on following the rules and throwing my scale into the top of my closet for the whole month, so hopefully that will keep it from being at the forefront of my mind.
That’s enough about that.
My sister is in Ireland for a class for her international business MBA. I’m jealous. Mom & Dad are watching her babydog while her husband is visiting his brother in KS. He has a cone collar thingy to keep him from scratching because his allergies are driving him insane. Poor martini-head/funnel-face. I took it off for a while when I was visiting. But he started scratching and chewing his feet, so it didn’t stay off long.

20120626-103333.jpg

He likes to cuddle.

Yeah, so far I’ve had no more anaphylaxis experiences. I ran once and last night the WOD was a bunch of power lifting–nothing super intense like what I did on Friday yet. I’m SO paranoid. I think I might wait a month or two, but if I ever can save a sufficient amount of money I am going to make a dr. appointment and talk about maybe getting some sort of allergy-attack-stopper.  Not sure how that works…

I thought this was funny. 🙂 I felt like the “everything after the first 5 minutes” dude on the day that I had that attack. I remember being like “why do I suck so much today? Why can I barely run? Why am I stopping in between every single burpee?” Yeah, it was like 95+ degrees in there, but I’m usually harder core than that. Then it was—“Oh… my eyes are disgustingly huge, that could be a problem…”

Crap, too, because crab/seafood is totally paleo friendly. But I’m about 90% sure that it tried to kill me.

7 thoughts on “Real Food???

  1. robfiasco June 26, 2012 / 11:54 am

    i would totally suffer with you but no sense in everyone suffering. perhaps i’ll drink and eat everything you can’t then make sure to tag you in every IG picture showing you how tasty it is…..hahaah 🙂

    i was looking for those chips you said tasted like cinammon toast crunch but they didn’t have them 😦 they had the beets and sweet potato, but that sounds awful.

    i’ve seen those Terra chips around but haven’t tried em. i’m guessing they’re good?

    • fabulousinfayetteville June 26, 2012 / 12:18 pm

      They are AMAZING! You need to try them! Exept I thought the plain sweet potato & sweets and beets were pretty “average”. The “Original” ones are amazeballs. As are the “Thai Basil Curry”. Those are the only ones I’ve tried so far 🙂

      And if u tag me in a picture of cheese I will straight up cut you. lol

      • robfiasco June 26, 2012 / 12:53 pm

        lol! lucky for me i’m not a huge cheese fan then! 🙂 i’ll try the original ones next time i’m at the store.

      • robfiasco June 26, 2012 / 2:35 pm

        oh and btw. i got the free kindle sample of this book to check out.

  2. Marlea June 26, 2012 / 12:18 pm

    I love those chips too. Isn’t there an Aldi off of College, kind of near Hastings? They sell those chips for waaay cheaper than any place else. FYI.

    • fabulousinfayetteville June 26, 2012 / 12:19 pm

      I think it might have closed…. i’ll check it, though! I’m always intimidated to veer off of my usual Walmart path, but that seems like a good enough reason!

      • JessMess August 8, 2012 / 11:41 am

        It moved! I drove past it recently, but not entirely sure where…maybe off MLK. If they sell these, I’m totally going to stock up.

Leave a Reply

