Miles for Miller

I know this is going to sound weird, but I think 5K’s are my least favorite races. They’re short enough that there’s no excuse to go “all out” the entire way, but they’re long enough to make you hate yourself for signing up to run it… what!? I don’t know.

This weekend, our crossfit WOD was to run the Miles for Miller 5k here in Fayetteville. It’s a charity cause to raise awareness ofย Spinal Muscular Atrophy,ย a group of inherited and often fatal diseases that destroy the nerves controlling voluntary muscular movement, which affects crawling, walking, head and neck control and even swallowing. One in forty people carry the gene that causes SMA. It’s pretty sad, but I’m glad that my crossfit chose that 5k for their annual 5k WOD.

20120702-112642.jpg

I was trying to be all instagram-artsy on my way out the door.

I hung out with Lorianne and Jessica. There are some seriously awesome people at my crossfit.Truly great peeps–straight shooters, motivators, friends. Just a fact.

(P.S. I really like running in those Innov-8s)

Here are all us crossfitters getting ready for the start. I’m a dodo bird for not wearing a 540 shirt. I only have one so far, and I really didn’t feel like running in it. It’s a bit on the short side. Meh.

Some pics were posted on facebook of me finishing…. I got a LOT of crap for looking ridiculous.

In my defense, I didn’t know my pic was being taken.

I wasn’t “phoning it in” at all. It was 80-something degrees, sunny, and I was running hard the whole way. I’m not photogenic when I’m pushing myself. If you are… then…. good for you. I think it’s best to just not take what anyone says on facebook to heart. I can’t imagine what goes through someone’s head when they tell someone they look ugly in a picture… ย I’m contemplating a facebook friend purge.

The haters can suck it. I ran a 7:22 pace. Finished in 22:51 and got 3rd overall female.

What else did I do? Oh, well I will tell you. (Bragging on my blog seems a lot less uppity than bragging on facebook…)

  • I back squatted 200lbs [PR]
  • I pulled out a whiteboard score on “Grace” with a 2:40 my first time to ever do it.
  • I pulled ANOTHER whiteboard the next day running a 5k in the middle of the summer.

Then I rewarded myself with a veggie pizza from Common Grounds. I accidentally ate the entire thing. It wasn’t paleo at all.20120702-112654.jpg

I’ve only half-heartedly begun the whole 30. I don’t know if I’m really ready to commit to it yet. I’m about to research the zone diet… I’m thinking I might play around with some combination of zone and paleo. There’s a super strong badass chica inside me and she is ready to bust her way out!!!

6 thoughts on “Miles for Miller

  1. robfiasco July 2, 2012 / 5:52 pm

    congrats on kicking ass!!! and that’s a great charity to be running for. i’ve never ran in my inov-8’s….well, other than the treadmill. it was good?

    3rd overall? damn. i’m impresssed. and now I feel like a lazy bum. i’d better get to the gym right now. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • fabulousinfayetteville July 3, 2012 / 8:55 am

      Yeah, I thought innov’s were great on the road!
      I’m not sure how I managed 3rd. I wasn’t expecting that at all–I was just hoping I could manage a sub-24. I was pleasantly surprised.

  2. JessMess August 8, 2012 / 11:36 am

    Cute pony. ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t know if you saw my pics from the finish, but yours are WAY more dignified. I didn’t even recognize myself at first…true story.

Leave a Reply

