The Northwest Arkansas Crossfit Throwdown!

WOW I have so much to say! But first I have to show off my california skillet chicken πŸ™‚ This recipe actually came out of the book “It Starts with Food” by Dallas and Melissa Hartwig. I totally messed it up, though. I left out the garlic and salt and pepper. This chicken makes a great salad addition and is great on its own with a side of veggies or whatever. Good times.

20120709-082915.jpg

We had a going away party for Lindsy at Steve’s house on Friday night. It was great. We had a slip-n-slide and a gigantic came of Jenga.

20120709-082937.jpg

My app came up with a fantastic caption for it.

So here’s the story of the Throwdown.

My first competition! Wooohoo!

Our gym producted three RX teams and one scaled team (meeee).

Here we are:

There were three workouts. The “buddy carry” workout, the “bear crawl” workout, and the “max clean and jerk” workout. I named them myself… So the first one had a bunch of overhead squats, pullups, sprints, and the buddy carry.

Sprints were kinda fun.

Overhead squats come relatively easy to me, so I agreed to bust out as many of those as possible. I think I got 40 of ’em. 65lbs wasn’t bad at all. The situation reversed when we got to the pullups. Alex did 99% of them and I did, like, 9 or 10. It was stupid how few I got. I’m going to work on those, but my hands are so shredded.

After pullups was the buddy carry:

Alex is amazing. I’m pretty sure I weigh more than her max back squat, and she hauled me across the field like a champ!

I got her back across pretty quickly. She’s so light… I think I jogged.

She was sliding down my back, but I just kept goin’!

The second workout was actually the worst. Bear crawls.

Teammates took turns bear crawling across and returning with various objects: a water jug, kettlebells, a sandbag, etc. Then use remaining time for as many box jumps as possible.

Bear crawling was a NIGHTMARE. Yeah, it was challenging, but the worst part was the temperature of the astro turf. Luckily my team was in the second heat, so we were warned to wear gloves. Thank GOD we were, because I wasn’t planning on wearing any. I borrowed some πŸ™‚

There’s no way to actually look cool while doing this. I checked.

20120709-083017.jpg

(Ignore the blood blister, but that gnarly thing on my palm is from the heat of the turf. It burned me THROUGH the glove.)

I was super nervous for workout 3: It was 12 (i think) minutes–each person finds their max clean and jerk, followed by an AMRAP of burpees with one teammate working at a time–we did sets of 5 which worked out really well. I had never tried to find a max clean and jerk, so I had worried a lot about this one in the week before the comp. Luckily, I was able to get some good practice in beforehand. I got 140. Pretty sure that was all I had, because I actually failed on my first attempt at the jerk. But I nailed it the second time πŸ™‚

And this is just a super cool picture:

Wearing that huge T-shirt was so unpleasant. I really hope I can get the type of physique that looks okay working out in a sports bra because I was dying–I felt like I was running around wearing a trash bag. I even ended up with a bit of a heat rash.

I decided that crossfit competitions are a whole different animal than running races. I feel like they’re more fair–it’s not just about how fast you can run. It’s about how fit you are. There were 10 scaled teams, and I think we came in 6th–up against Terra Firma, Conway, Hot Spings, and various groups from NWA I’d say that’s not too shabby.

The next day I went to the lake. I invited lots of people, but it was just me, Jess, and my dad.

She learned how to wakeskate!

20120709-082953.jpg

And I learned how to make my hair stand up like a troll.

Β & Happy Monday!
3 thoughts on “The Northwest Arkansas Crossfit Throwdown!

  1. robfiasco July 11, 2012 / 9:53 am

    wow! super impressed and inspired by your hard work!!! keep it up!! I often rock a sports bra when working out. I think it looks good. I guess it’s more of a sports bro tho. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

