GoRUCK, embrace the suck.

I abuse my body.

Not because I drink excessively or because I like to shoot heroin or smoke cigars. It’s because I refuse to rest… The only thing I’m doing less of these days is distance running. It’s summer, I can’t help it.

I did a “GoRuck Mini” on Saturday night. I will try my best to describe it, but you might want to check out GoRuckChallenge.com to get the feel for what really was going on.

To summarize the mini:

  • 12 miles
  • backpack full of bricks
  • bear crawling
  • buddy carrying
  • beer
  • pushups
  • squats
  • yelling.
It was actually a blast. We took turns being the “leader”, and we were given challenges… I was expecting it to be like an adventure race, but it was definitely just a group of us being bossed around by a leader the whole time. Who offered us lots of beer. Personally, I don’t particularly care to mix sweat with beer, but I celebrated post-ruck with a couple. Carrying a backpack full of bricks is serious. Especially when you are buddy carrying someone who also has a backpack full of bricks. Good times 🙂
Unfortunately, you have to carry 6 bricks if you’re over 150lbs and 4 bricks if you’re under. And they don’t care what your gender is, or how close to 150 you might be– so I got to run around with 6 bricks. I did girl pushups with them.
We met John Salley and took a picture with him. Because apparently that is the kind of stuff that happens while you’re GoRucking.

My favorite part is that he can palm Bev’s whole head.

My least favorite part was doing pushups in a stagnant pond full of goose doo doo, even though it was epic.

The next day, a bunch of us decided to WOD our poor aching bodies.

             WOD:

Find maxShoulder press

Then

100 squats

15 strict pu

Run 200

75 squats

12 strict pu

200m

50 squats

10 strict pu

Run 200m

25 squats

8 strict pu

Run 200m

THEN we went to the lake. And I faceplanted super hard. I haven’t wiped out like that since high school. My neck feels ridiculous today. I can’t do anything without feeling major strain. Waah waah, I like to complain.
 I failed at fasting over the weekend. Maybe it will just be a weekday thing for me. I’m back on the horse today, sipping my BCAA’s.
6 thoughts on “GoRUCK, embrace the suck.

  1. robfiasco July 16, 2012 / 2:28 pm

    running 12 miles carrying people and bricks shouldn’t be a mini anything…just saying.

    and then you did a Wod?!?!

    I spent all weekend working again. but didn’t manage to sneak in some crossfit games watching on downtime. I worked out through them via osmosis.

    • robfiasco July 16, 2012 / 2:30 pm

      *did manage. commenting via phone is my excuse…

      • fabulousinfayetteville July 16, 2012 / 2:33 pm

        lol– that makes much more sense! Oh, and the buddy carries were only a few hundred yards… up a hill… in a foot of snow… lol jk about the snow

      • robfiasco July 16, 2012 / 2:49 pm

        uphill both ways in your bare feet?? you should see this pic of me in my old car like 6 years ago and the amount of snow there is on it. hilarious.

  2. JessMess August 8, 2012 / 11:27 am

    If ever there was a weekend for skipping fasting, this was definitely it! I felt like I was in calorie deficit for the next week.

Leave a Reply

