Poor Gene

If you’re having girl problems I feel bad for you son, I’ve got 99 problems… and one of them is my car.

(looks a lot like this)

I was trying to go to my chiropractor appointment this morning, and I totally ran out of gas. Almost got hit by a garbage truck on the interstate. Stupid, right? Well, in my defense–the gas light for that car is permanently on. It’s an old (1998-ish?) land rover. I’ve been driving it for about a month–ever since my Tahoe decided to crap out in 19 ways all at the same time. The check engine light is on, the driver’s window won’t roll down, it shifts really hard when it’s trying to pull a hill, the seat heaters are all broken, it can’t play CDs anymore, and for some reason the dash lights like to flicker when you hit the brakes (among other things). I enjoy the land rover though, it is the only vehicle I’ve ever driven that drives in a straight line when you take your hands off the steering wheel. Impressive stuff!

I have a very sad story….

20120727-082438.jpgThis is Gene.

RIP Gene. I found him in my washing machine as I was moving all of the wet clothes into the dryer.  I guess he had found a nice snuggly home in some of my sweaty dirty laundry, but he forgot to notify his landlord of his presence. Things happen. Sorry, Gene. I feel bad, I really do. Is he a gecko? If he is then it is even more tragic. No more savings on car insurance 😦

This entry is super depressing. Let’s talk happy things! I got three new max lifts at crossfit:

Shoulder Press: 100lbs. (I had a false victory celebration when I thought I had pressed 100 when It was only 95. So then I added the little metal doughnuts and tried again and GOT it!)

Overhead Squat: 135lbs. I think I could have gotten more, but I ran out of time. I think it might boil down to how much weight I can jerk to get into OHS position instead of how much weight I can actually squat. which is a good thing IMO.

Front Squat: 175lbs. 175! That used to be my back squat. Just saying.

Heavy lifting is where it’s at for me. (Most likely because I weigh so much.) So yeah, even when I power clean 145lbs, it’s still less than my body weight, so it’s not that big of a deal. Ring dips, pullups, handstand pushups… that’s where I run into problems.

I think I need another new jump rope. I’m about to bite the bullet and buy an RX rope.

I’m pretty sure it’s ME, not the rope. But whatever. I do what I can.

I am doing the “Oklahoma City Crossfit Challenge” next weekend. Excitingsauce. All I know right now is–max clean and jerk, overhead squats, front squats, and back squats.

I have nothing eles interesting to say. No yummy food pics, I’ve just been making the same old stuff:

  • turkey nuggets
  • stir fry veggies
  • sun dried tomato chicken
  • cauliflower “mashed potatoes”

I’ve been almost perfectly paleo this week except for my supplements (whey protein, BCAAs), a cupcake, and I had all kinds of sauces with my lunch at Hu Hot yesterday. Uh, and the imitation crab I ate with it. I really should stop pretending that I don’t have an athletically induced shellfish allergy, because I do. But lucky for me, it was an “off day”.

Happy Friday!!!

6 thoughts on “Poor Gene

  1. ~jenniferlynn July 30, 2012 / 10:59 am

    I would cry for the little guy.. 😦

    I’m so jealous of your lifts.. I’ll get there one day! Jumprope looks awesome! We’re looking for a good one for our home gym, but that site you linked to severely overcomplicated things.. so now me and the BF are each going to need our own? 😛 I’m all for the pink one (except I’m cheap.. hehe.)

    • fabulousinfayetteville July 30, 2012 / 11:18 am

      absolutely! you need one that is the right length for you. and one that doesn’t come apart–which has been my biggest issue. Invest in an RX rope, I think they are worth it. The only downside is that the length is not customizable after your receive the rope, so you’ll have to measure yourself for it. and it’s better to get it a little too long than not long enough 🙂

  2. robfiasco August 1, 2012 / 10:30 am

    98 land rover? awesome! except for the running out of gas part. where’d you score that beast from?

    • fabulousinfayetteville August 1, 2012 / 10:32 am

      Lucky me! My dad has a boat repair place and he gets trades a lot. My tahoe is sick. And frankly, at this point I don’t really care if we ever switch back!

      • robfiasco August 1, 2012 / 10:36 am

        the only way I could ever afford one would be to get one from like 1995….

        i’ve always wanted to get an old school bmw like that. pretend i’m cool.

  3. JessMess August 8, 2012 / 11:17 am

    Ok, I agree that the jump rope technical difficulties I experience are due to my own operator error. BUT I think if it is possible to do better with a better rope, then it might be easier to develop the necessary muscle memory and technique to get DUs! If you don’t have one by Christmas….well, guess I ruined the surprise huh? lol

Leave a Reply

