Eat, Sleep, Repeat.

Yesterday was a rest day from crossfit, and since I wasn’t able to throw a wakeboarding trip together after work (since I basically ruined the boat last time) I was free for the evening to hang out at my apartment and paint my toenails and cook stuff. So here’s what I made:

Artichoke Spinach Dip form PaleOMG.

20120731-111002.jpg

 

This stuff is epic. And I totally made the naughty version that has goat cheese in it. It was just enough cheese to make the flavor super fantastic, but not enough to do anything weird to my guts. Also I couldn’t find unsalted roasted cashews and I am too lazy to roast my own, so this thing is pretty salty. I don’t care. I like salt.

Next, I made dessert.

PaleOMG’s Sugar Detox Carrot Cake pudding. Holy cow, I also cheated on this one and added a tablespoon of honey. If could rename this I would call it “Carrots Disguised as Pumpkin Pie” because it tastes just like Christmas.

20120731-111020.jpg

 

Perhaps it would be more carrot cakey if I added nuts and raisins to it. But I liked it just like that.

20120731-111038.jpg

So I threw it in a bowl and let it chill in the fridge. Easy peasy.

20120731-111101.jpg

And last of all, I made PaleOMG loaded twice-baked turkey sweet potatoes. Nommmm.

20120731-111110.jpg

20120731-111121.jpg

20120731-111131.jpg

 

They just aren’t photogenic. But I forgive them, the taste makes up for it. I didn’t use as much spice this time, so they were a little bit tamer than last time I made them.

So you should totally buy this app! It’s only 99 cents. It’s called “Sleep Cycle” and it’s purpose is to wake you up with an alarm during a 30-minute time window that you specify (it waits till you’re at a certain point in your sleep cycle). Unfortunately my phone is incapable of emitting sound, so I can’t use that feature. But that’s what you get when you take your phone to the lake and/or dunk it in a glass of water.

This app works when you hit “start” and then lay the phone (plugged in) face down on your mattress. It uses the accelerometer to measure movements at night. I’m guessing it wouldn’t work if you share a bed. Or have one of those fancy-pants tempur-pedic mattresses. I definitely don’t have to worry about either of those 🙂

Here is my sleep from last night:

20120731-111141.jpg

Yeah, I actually woke up naturally. And even though the amount of time I slept was pretty short, I got a pretty solid 4 cycles in. The hour markers are messed up, though, I think. I’ll have to post screen shots of this stats page again in the future once I accumulate more data.

 

9 thoughts on “Eat, Sleep, Repeat.

  1. ~jenniferlynn July 31, 2012 / 1:02 pm

    I used that same app before and thought it was awesome. And crazy to see how poorly I slept! Since I started working out and eating real food, I very rarely suck at sleeping, but still a neat app nonetheless.
    Oh – my iPhone speakers don’t work very well either!! Soaked in baby sunscreen.. :\

    • fabulousinfayetteville July 31, 2012 / 1:04 pm

      Lucky for me, mine work if my phone rings or if an alarm that I set using “clock’ goes off. Everything else–nada. lol

      • ~jenniferlynn July 31, 2012 / 1:13 pm

        I did it to mine a month after I got it! :\ Set it down in a car door that apparently had some exploded sunscreen.. I was SO MAD!
        It’s just super muffled sound. Like a bad speaker. I’m so excited for the new one September 21!!!

      • fabulousinfayetteville July 31, 2012 / 1:15 pm

        OMG yay! me too, except my contract has another whole year left…. which is a shame. I can’t afford to buy a phone outright–I gotta use my contract upgrade!

  2. robfiasco August 1, 2012 / 8:45 am

    you wake up at 4:15? why????

  3. OurLifeExperiments August 1, 2012 / 3:08 pm

    Your food pictures make me so hungry…. I miss running with you gals!

  4. JessMess August 8, 2012 / 11:11 am

    Sleep app totally works on tempur-pedic too! Way cool stuff. Cannot wait to try out that spinach artichoke dip!

Leave a Reply

