Oklahoma Crossfit Challenge

Woops, I almost went a whole week without blogging!!! How the heck did that happen? Ooopsiedoodle.

It probably happened because I’ve been spending all of my time worrying about getting myself to Oklahoma City for the Oklahoma Crossfit Challenge. Someone decided to have a crossfit event and a body-building event together in the same room… not sure whose idea that was, but it was pretty comical.

That morning was INSANE! I somehow managed not to set my alarm. I was supposed to meet everyone at the gym to carpool at 5:30 but I didn’t wake up till 5:45. Thank GOODNESS I woke up then. Then I had to drive 3.5 hours all alone to OKC, haha!

Here are the pics:

This is Taylor who just moved up here from Conway. She’s a cool chick. We’re gonna be lifting buddies. LOL, the bikini contest preliminaries are going on in the background! Those girls looked so hungry… and thirsty.

Here’s the whole team:

I like the photobombing going on in that one!

So each team/individual had to do 3 WODs. For teams, the first WOD was to find your max ground to overhead (clean and jerk) in 7 minutes. It was tricky because we had to share weights with the guys, yet we had two different bars. I got 148 pretty easily, but since we didn’t have the right plates to add to make a small increase, we were forced to go up to 163 (the bar weighed 33lbs). I thought it was 155, which is only 5 lbs more than my current PR. I power cleaned it (because I have power cleaned 155 three times now). And then when I went to jerk it, I completely collapsed. It was like a slow motion wreck and all I could do was try to steer the bar away from crashing into my face. Hooray that the plates hit the ground first. I immediately jumped up and said “I’m okay!!!” but I had totally whacked my head on the concrete. Man, I wish SO bad that I could have gotten that! I almost died when I heard that I had actually cleaned 163. We probably would have tied for 3rd place if I had landed the jerk–but we ended up in 4th which was still pretty awesome.

WOD 2 only involved 4 of the 6 team members: The two girls and two guys eac had to do 75 reps of back squats(135/95), front squats(115/75) and over head squats(65/45). And we had to push a plate for 30 yards or something. The girls did everything first, and then the guys had to do it all. Our judge was confused… he didn’t know the answers to any of our questions so we made the mistake of pushing the plates at the same time. They made me go again two more times on my own. Which stunk.

I think I’m actually pretty annoyed in this photo. But determined.

Here’s part of my team!

WOD 3– we had to divide the 6 person teams into groups of two. We decided to go guy/girl. Station 1: someone hands on a pullup bar while the other person does burpees. Keep going to 75. Buddy carry to Station 2: next pair [where I was!] does 100 kettlebell (55/35) swings while other person holds a barbell (135/95) overhead. Buddy carry to station 3: one arm dumbell snatches, while other person holds a plank.

Looks like I am preparing to drop the bar and start the kettlebell swings. Our strategy was to do 4 sets of 25. But we ended up doing something more like: 30/25/25/15/5 lol! The overhead holds got harder and harder, but I liked doing it a lot.

Here’s our buddy carry. I totally forgot to cross my legs.

Pretty sure I’ve never been carried that fast ever. It was fun!

Here’s the whole gang who came from my gym to compete! ๐Ÿ™‚

Enough of that, now it’s time to talk FOOD!

I made zucchini “poato” salad from ilovefetacheese.com. It’s not very photogenic, but it was delicious!

20120806-094323.jpg

I accidentally ate all of it by myself in one sitting…

I read something on Mark’s Daily Apple a while back that said you could get manganese into your diet by eating dark chocolate and raspberries together. You don’t have to tell me twice.

20120806-094332.jpg

Although now I’m pretty sure that article has been edited…. ohwell ๐Ÿ™‚

I made PaleOMG’s butternut squash pesto chicken again.

20120806-094345.jpg

This stuff is delicious. And genius. And it lasts me about 4 meals and I’m a big eater.

20120806-094352.jpg

Fuji apple harvest salad from Panera:

20120806-094404.jpg

20120806-094412.jpg

Peanut says that he is tired of reading ignorant opinions about politics on facebook.

6 thoughts on “Oklahoma Crossfit Challenge

  1. Nate August 6, 2012 / 1:31 pm

    Peanut should start his own blog about politics.

    Also, is that a bandaid on your shoulder in the pics? ….tattoo? Inquiring minds want to know.

    • fabulousinfayetteville August 6, 2012 / 1:41 pm

      LOL no it’s keniseology tape ๐Ÿ™‚ I got it because I had a chiropractor appointment the day before and my should had been bothering me a bit. I chose festive “olypmic-colored” tape!

  2. robfiasco August 6, 2012 / 2:49 pm

    1. congrats on kicking butt in OKC!!! ๐Ÿ™‚
    2. pushing that plate looks like it’s really bad for your back….
    3. that dog is hairy. but also looks studious.

    that’s it. have a great week!

    • fabulousinfayetteville August 6, 2012 / 3:12 pm

      Thanks! And naw, the plate push was fine–just really challenging on coordination. We had to do them between huge sets of qsuats, so that part was killer.

      I haven’t been this sore in the quads since I ran my first marathon. Not even kidding–I have to do that whole deal where you have to grab onto things while you’re loweing yourself into any type of sitting position!

  3. ilovefetacheese August 8, 2012 / 8:25 am

    All those photos are BADASSS!!!! I love your CMH bra ๐Ÿ™‚

    • fabulousinfayetteville August 8, 2012 / 10:41 am

      Thanks:) i love that bra too, it’s my fave!!! I hope lulu comes out with a similar design soon. I like the coverage it has, and none of their current bras have all that much.

Leave a Reply

