Go Ruck Mini 3!

I did my first “Mini Ruck” last month and blogged about it here. Well, last weekend after all the Froning shenanigans I ended up doing another mini that night–crazy, I know. Don’t worry, I stayed in bed pretty much all day on Sunday.

What is a Go Ruck?

I had to answer this a billion times while doing things in populated areas. It’s a challenge that you do as a group to show off you super fancy Ruck pack. Unless you don’t have on. In which case you are probably doing it because Jessica  talked you into it. The actual Go Ruck is on her birthday–who can say no to that??? A heartless buttfaced lazy person, that’s who!

Anywho. The mini started off with about 45 minutes of  PT.

This all done on the busiest pedestrian street in the whole town. Of course.

Flutter kicks in the grass, anyone?

The crab crawls made my shoulders BURN.

I think this was called a marine crawl? My elbows are still kinda scabby looking.

The pictures pretty much stopped there because took off on our 12 mile trek, leaving all the kids and wives behind.

We did all kinds of crazy things around the town–we carried a log for at least 3 miles. We walked up a creek. We did tons of pushups and squats. We got in another pond (less poopy this time) and did dive bomp pushups. It was gross, but a HUGE improvement from “lake lucille” that we got in last time. Which wasn’t a lake at all. It was a small, stagnant pond with an absurd amount of goose poo in it.

At one point, we were at the local memorial park. I didn’t even know that was there… I felt like a jerk.

We were asked to locate the Medal of Honor winner who was buried there. We found Clarence B. Craft. We also went to a local park that was named after him. The park had no plaque or anything in his honor, yet there was a commemorative plaque for a 7th grade class who studied the stream there or something. That has to change. We are all going to work to get this funded. Craft is one of a few M.O.H. winners who lived to tell about it. He ran head first into danger by himself and killed 25 enemies. You can read more about him here.

*  *  *

I have to write about crossfit because I am bursting at the seams about it!!! They released the workouts for tryouts for the HOA in november.

I might be jumping the gun, but I have decided to try out with the RX workouts. The only things I know I’m not that strong at (that we will be doing in those WODs) are the chest-to-bar pullups and handstand pushups. I’m also not that great at double-unders and toes to bar, but I can lift heavy. That should balance me out some.

But check out my latest accomplishments, OMG:

  • I did 2 STRICT pull ups.
  • I can suddenly do rope climbs without chickening out halfway up and crapping my pants. I think it’s because I figured out how to come back down without ripped all of the skin off of my hands/legs. That usually helps… To have skin.

That’s all I got.

Coming up–stuff I cooked and results of HOA tryout WODs.

20 thoughts on “Go Ruck Mini 3!

  1. ~jenniferlynn August 22, 2012 / 2:07 pm

    Yay pull-ups!!!!!!!! 😀

    You are my idol, btw.. you never fail to impressive me with your strength and enduance!!

    • fabulousinfayetteville August 22, 2012 / 2:24 pm

      AWW!! This comment made my day! :):):) You’re right there with me, though, girl!

      • ~jenniferlynn August 22, 2012 / 2:29 pm

        I have a long way to go! I gotta get me some shoulders like you!
        I did some farmer walks yesterday on my “off day” and struggling with lifting my arms up today.. I see disappoint in my future on my overhead presses..

      • fabulousinfayetteville August 22, 2012 / 2:33 pm

        Everyone has trouble with those–im just a freak of nature because I was born with man shoulders!-haha jk, but I do have “big bones”. The fact that I am a runner paired with my body’s natural gift of the ability to lift heavy makes me a pretty decent crossfit athlete.

      • ~jenniferlynn August 22, 2012 / 2:33 pm

        And hence, how you continue to inspire me 🙂 My scrawny self will get there one day!!

      • fabulousinfayetteville August 22, 2012 / 2:34 pm

        Just keep chipping away! You’ll be throwing your bodyweight overhead before you know it 🙂

  2. robfiasco August 22, 2012 / 2:22 pm

    i haven’t done a rope climb since middle school. i wonder how well i’d do now….probably horrible.

    those mini rucks looks awesome. I’d love to partake in something like this some day.

    good luck on your tryouts!!!

    • fabulousinfayetteville August 22, 2012 / 2:26 pm

      Yes! You should definitely go ruck yourself (lol)! goruckchallenge.com has a bunch of public go rucks and you can find one in your area. They also have events that are private (invitation only) which is the kind I am doing–these are a tiny bit cheaper. I got hooked up by people I know through crossfit 🙂

      • robfiasco August 22, 2012 / 2:29 pm

        hahaha nice. i’ll have to wait until i’m closer to civilization to find one in my area…haha. invite only eh? you fancy!

    • fabulousinfayetteville August 22, 2012 / 2:38 pm

      I forgot to mention–it took us 7 hours and we only covered half the distance of a normal Go Ruck. (12 miles)

      • robfiasco August 22, 2012 / 2:43 pm

        well, hopefully i won’t be spending 70+ hours at my jobs soon and will have more free time to spend doing cool stuff like this and not sitting on my rear drinking a beer. hey that rhymed!

      • robfiasco August 22, 2012 / 2:48 pm

        absolutely! haha. yeah. i think i did 70 hours in 5 days last week. 15 hour work days are awesome……or something. tomorrow will be 8:30 – 4:30 at my office job, then 5 – midnight(ish) at an amphitheater. and i’ll be doing that the next 4 days.

      • robfiasco August 22, 2012 / 2:51 pm

        hahaha i wish! saving up for my move. not sure how long it will take me to find a job so i’d rather have a little cushion of cash just in case. i’d like to be able to hold out for a job I actually like going to.

      • robfiasco August 22, 2012 / 2:53 pm

        thanks! i’ve done it 3 times in the last year and a half. moving back between NY and TX. i’m a pro at the drive now though. sorry i’ve hijacked your blog with my nonsense.

  3. JessMess August 30, 2012 / 3:38 pm

    Hahaha! I’m telling Mitch that you called him a “heartless buttfaced lazy person”! LOL
    And yes, moving is totally scary, but it’s do-able.

Leave a Reply

