Rope Climb Fail

So, yeah. Day 3 for HOA tryouts didn’t go particularly well. I managed to do 28 thrusters in 5 minutes (which was good!), I did 6 “legit” hand stand pushups (a big personal achievement, but not good enough for tryouts), and I totally failed on the last workout because of the rope climbs.

(Doing toes-to bar.)

I figured I would be a little slow on the rope, but I didn’t think it would be enough to keep me from getting a decent score–I can do overhead squats, so I figured  I would make up for lost time on those (7 reps at 95 lbs).

3-2-1-GO! I did my first two rope climbs relatively quickly. Then onto the squats–7 and done. THEN, I went back to the rope and got about halfway up and failed (i.e. slid back down and had to start over). Then I got 90% of the way and failed. Then I got pretty much all the way up and lost my grip and screamed like a girl as the rope seared through my hands while I “controlled-fell” to the ground. I only had a small burn on my palm and somehow got one on my thigh. I was such a big baby!!! I wish I could have a do-over for that WOD. I spent the entire remaining 4 minutes of time attempting to finish doing rope climbs while every muscle in my body locked up. I finally got one, but I kept almost getting there, freaking out, and falling back down. It was so frustrating because I can totally do the squats like a boss, I just couldn’t finish the climbs so I could move onto it.

Bottom line: I know what to work on for next year. They haven’t posted the final scores yet, but I know I lost the spot I had, for sure. I will most likely not be on an “RX” team this year at HOA, but maybe I’ll get on a really good scaled one. And who knows, maybe we will place!

Glad tryouts are over!

Taking a much-needed rest day today.

7 thoughts on “Rope Climb Fail

  1. robfiasco @ run2thehills August 27, 2012 / 2:31 pm

    damn those rope climbs!! haha.

    either way, you totally kicked butt regardless of making a RX team or not. you’ve come a long way since I’ve started reading your blog and that’s a huge accomplishment! enjoy your rest day and get back at it even harder and more determined!!! 🙂

  2. ~jenniferlynn August 27, 2012 / 2:41 pm

    Toes to bar? Jealous, again! 🙂
    That’s awesome that you went back to try and finish it, even though it was over. Such determination! Great job, anyway! You rock, chica!!

    • fabulousinfayetteville August 27, 2012 / 2:44 pm

      Aw thanks!! I’ll post as soon as I find out whether I made a team or not 🙂

      • JessMess September 5, 2012 / 11:05 pm

        Yeah, so how’d those tryouts turns out… :)))

      • fabulousinfayetteville September 6, 2012 / 8:45 am

        haha for some reason I forgot to post the results on my blog! fail. lol

Leave a Reply

