sledge hammers

I have been horrible about posting. I have no excuse, other than I guess I’ve just had some monotony in my life last week. This week is starting off on an awesome note, though! Just booked my flight to NYC for the Nationals Adventure Race. $285. I pretty much feel like I stole something. I was expecting to pay upwards of $400 for that thing.

I posted this to my FB wall and got all kinds of reactions: When life gives you a ripe avocado, you make chocolate pudding. Obviously.20120910-092639.jpgAs usual, I borrowed the recipe from PaleOMG. It was a winner.

We had a dog birthday party last night for the poms. They just turned 4.

20120910-092711.jpg

20120910-092726.jpgย Peanut likes eating cupcakes whole, even though they are bigger than his head. Can’t say I blame him.

On Saturday, Taylor and I went to a fundraiser event in Bentonville for Sheepdog. It was a good time.

The WOD was:

100 ft buddy carry

80 sledge hammer strikes

60 box jumps (man sized box)

40 sumo deadlift high pulls with kettlebell

20 burpees

40 sumo deadlift high pulls with kettlebell

60 box jumps (man sized box)

80 sledge hammer strikes

100ft buddy carry.

We started off nicely. She did a good job carrying me without going too fast or too slow.

Sledge hammer strike. I was AWFUL at them, but they looked cool in pictures.

24-inch boxes make me nervous, and I’ve never even fallen on one yet. Taylor has broken her shin–she has the right to be nervous.

Having a hard time taking myself seriously with that crazy hammer.

Here’s the best part: I was finished the last buddy carry and I tripped and fell. We resorted to a standard piggyback style after that. In my defense, I looked over an saw another team just barely ahead of us, so I decided it would be a good idea to pick up the pace. It wasn’t.

I’m so dumb. I felt really bad about it.

So I forgot to mention this (somehow) but I made a team for HOA! I made the number 3 team and I’m on a team with two awesome girls and three ridiculously fit guys, so I’m gonna have to hold myself to ย a higher standard. Maybe I’ll do some 2-a-days. Blergh.

Oh! Yesterday I back squatted 210lbs. Pretty sure I could do more, too!

And I am WAY better at double unders now. I did 10 sets of 30 in a workout recently and didn’t even have to break them up all that much ๐Ÿ™‚

20120910-092653.jpg

–and uncoordinated, and weak, and lazy, and clumsy… lol!

4 thoughts on “sledge hammers

  1. robfiasco September 10, 2012 / 10:31 am

    dog birthday parties must be a south thing…..

    how’d the pudding turn out? i’m thinking about making some pumpkin chili this week….pretty excited about that.

    your friend broke her shin??? that’s hard core! looks like y’all had a good time!

    • fabulousinfayetteville September 10, 2012 / 11:08 am

      pudding was FREAKINGDELICIOUS! just saying. and no dog birthdays are not a south thing–just a thing… lol i dont know where my mom got the idea. it was just an excuse to have an over-the-top family dinner night.

  2. ~jenniferlynn September 10, 2012 / 10:46 am

    I’m interested about the pudding, too.. I love avocados, but using them for anything else is quite scary!

    Awesome job on making the team, girl!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ And those shorts look hot! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • fabulousinfayetteville September 10, 2012 / 11:09 am

      make the pudding!!! i doubled the recipe because i needed to use my whole avocado at one time bc it was so soft… and i ate it all in one sitting… wooops. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

