Filthy 50 and a Barking Video

This entry promises to be extremely boring.

Here is one of my hands after doing banded bar muscle ups this week.
20120912-154615.jpg
“Ugly hands, hot body.”

Whatever, I just want to go shake hands with some cute single guy so he can then proceed to run away screaming from my scratchy scabby man hands. We weren’t compatible anyways. Don’t know what’s up with that flaky-skin though. My left hand actually looks a lot nicer than this one.

Anyways–the filthy 50 was yesterday.

50 Box jump, 24 inch box
50 Jumping pull-ups
50 Kettlebell swings, 1 pood
Walking Lunge, 50 steps
50 Knees to elbows
50 Push press, 45 pounds
50 Back extensions
50 Wall ball shots, 20 pound ball <;–I started here & went in order.
50 Burpees
50 Double unders

It was my first time doing it without being plagued by the wrath of double-unders. Yeah, it took me a couple of tries to get going, but once I did, I railed them all out in a minute or so. Last time I did that, it literally took me like 4 minutes. One at a time. It was horrible, but I was determined to RX the stupid thing. I knocked 3 minutes and 41 seconds off of my previous time–I finished it in 26 minutes and 1 second. Ha! I’ll take it. Toes to bar ate my breakfast. As did burpees. And I’m not a very fast box-jumper because I don’t trust my coordination skills enough, but it’s all good! I am making baby steps in the right direction.

Interesting fact: I think the 50 back extensions make me more sore than anything else. My glutes and hams are on fire today.

Other interesting fact: Writing this blog entry took me 20 minutes. I was hoping to kill more time…

Today is a rest day, but I did my usual 5-miler this morning with the girls. I call it “usual” but this was only my second week in a row–I used to go running religiously before I started crossfit. [Why does my spell check constantly underline crossfit?!? Oh, it allows “CrossFit”, apparently. ] I’m trying to run more so that I can try to obtain at least a little bit of endurance before my adventure race next month. I feel extremely unprepared for it… not gonna lie.

So I’m dumb and I held my phone the wrong way, but this video is funny 🙂

I get to dog-sit on my lunch breaks because mom is out of town for a couple of days.

Oh, and I almost forgot:

20120912-162925.jpg

10 thoughts on “Filthy 50 and a Barking Video

  1. Sarah @ Run, Write, Conquer September 12, 2012 / 7:55 pm

    Great job on the Filthy Fifty! I totally hear you on the hands thing. I always wonder what my clients at work must think when they shake my hand. Crossfit girls’ hands are sexy, for sure!

    • fabulousinfayetteville September 13, 2012 / 8:42 am

      Tape grips have saved my life, though! I’ll have to post about them soon. I still have rough hands, but a LOT fewer rips 🙂

  2. ~jenniferlynn September 13, 2012 / 9:13 am

    I want hands like that! hehe.. I just have a couple baby callouses, mostly under my middle fingers. I’m sure Froning would find those hands hot. 😉
    And major props on completing this!! I did a scaled down version of this for my 30th birthday and almost died. But it was all good 🙂 Love your dedication! And love that you really never have bad things to say about your workouts!

    • fabulousinfayetteville September 13, 2012 / 2:29 pm

      Aww thanks 🙂 You will definitely get these hands, it just magically happens.

      So yeah, they should clone Froning and then send him to live in Fayetteville.

      • ~jenniferlynn September 13, 2012 / 2:35 pm

        You’d be so sexy together 😉 Do you have that muscle-up pic of him framed on your wall?

      • fabulousinfayetteville September 13, 2012 / 2:36 pm

        hehe no! but only because i’m lazy! i need to do a lot of decorating projects. oh, but i doooo have his autographed picture in my living room, though!

  3. robfiasco @ run 2 the hills September 13, 2012 / 1:09 pm

    nice hands! and, you can write my blog post if you’re looking to waste time. thanks in advance 🙂

    • fabulousinfayetteville September 13, 2012 / 2:30 pm

      You’re welcome in advance. I will write your blog a whole entry complaining about being a girl.

  4. JessMess September 13, 2012 / 11:25 pm

    I love the fact that you write like you speak. I can totally hear you every time I read your blog! You should have seen how freaked out Marmelade, my cat, got about Peanut barking, too funny.

Leave a Reply

