GORUCK Mini 3

Yup. I took the time to mirror this image so that the words wouldn’t be backwards.

That’s my first WodLove purchase ever.  They have this new addition to their site where there is a daily markdown. Dangerous, but awesome. It’s almost cold enough for me to wear that to the box. So for now, I’m just looking for excuses to sit outside at night.

GORUCK MINI 3! I think this one might have been the funnest one yet! Aside from the first one, that one was pretty flippin’ awesome. I enjoyed that we did it during the day (which we did so that we could all eat burgers and watch the hogs lose at 6:00pm). I think the actual GORUCK Challenge will be cool because we will be watching the sun come up. Probably while we stick our faces into freezing water and stab ourselves with bricks. Who knows.

We met at Pack Rat, and the being down wind of that duck pond was extra putrid. We were splashing all around in that thing a month ago, and “Lake” Lucille a month before that (it’s a mud puddle, not a lake). Luckily this time we got to play in the Skull Creek and Lake Fayetteville instead 🙂

He said “do something silly”. I went all Napoleon Dynamite. Silliness is a rare and carefully mastered skill that not all people possess. Apparently. And yes, Bob is wearing a kilt.

 I got to be the first “team leader”. Which was silly.

I can’t count, so it was kinda challenging to be in charge during the PT part, lol!

Brick bag “get-ups”. Oodles of fun in the sun!

We ended up bear crawling, carrying a small log, playing “tire baseball”, and doing a short deep water swim–sans ruck.

I only carried 4 bricks for the last two train-ups, but I intend to bring 6 for the real deal. I’m over 150 lbs so I kinda have to. I was gonna try and lose ten lbs before race day, but i accidentally gained a few instead. So now I either have to lose about 15lbs before Oct 20, or (as Mitch would say) “suck it up, buttercup.” Ugh, pass me the damn bricks.

This is the umpteenth time that I have made these Spaghetti Meatball Bites:20120924-095643.jpgThe epitome of paleo comfort food.

2 thoughts on “GORUCK Mini 3

  1. JessMess September 26, 2012 / 10:59 pm

    Can’t believe you left out that you buddy carried me (PLUS our 2 bags of bricks) all the way around Pack Rat’s pond, after hiking 12 miles, swimming, carrying 100lb tires, etc.. That duck pond is bigger than it looks. And I still have bruises, LOL.

    • fabulousinfayetteville September 27, 2012 / 8:48 am

      Well I don’t know how to prevent the bruising–maybe we can bring a pillow to soften up my shoulder, lol! Or maybe I really WILL carry Bob. That way he can have some bruises. He has bad karma anyway for making fun of my enormous thighs 🙂

Leave a Reply

