David’s Tea

WARNING: There is a huge rant about religion at the bottom of this post. Please avoid it if that is a sensitive topic–it’s not exactly something in the general “scope” of this blog.

Well, now it’s Lisa’s tea…20120925-095016.jpg

I’ve been hearing all about how wonderful this tea is from the girls in lululemon’s “this just in” Facebook group. You have to order it from Canada.

So I did. Here’s “birthday cake”:

20120925-095032.jpg

OMG there are sprinkles in there!

I used my new “perfect tea mug” to steep the tea AND drink it with only one dish to wash. Genius! I’m totally new to loose leaf tea. In fact, I’m kinda new to all tea… but I like to try new things, and this sounded like a winner.

20120925-095039.jpg

The cup is really cool. After you steep it with the lid on, you can use the lid to set the doohickey in. Is that the technical term? Doohickey. I think it is.20120925-095046.jpg

I freaking love branches and trees.

Speaking of which, I finally went mountain biking!!!

20120925-095103.jpg

Zach and I went to a place right by my apartment. Yeah that’s how lazy I am–I don’t even need to haul my bike anywhere to be able to use it, yet I still haven’t ridden it this year. Which is extra dumb considering I will be racing on it in a few short weeks.

We found a magic door frame in the woods.

20120925-095129.jpg

20120925-095139.jpg

I did this photoshop job in like 2 minutes flat:

And since this is my blog, I feel like I should share something that is going on in my head. I’ve been extremely confused about my spirituality lately. (Eeesh, this is going to be a long story, but here goes!) All through high school and college, I considered myself a very devout Christian. I worked at a christian camp for two summers that I had attended every summer since I was 14–I was completely sold on everything. As soon as I had a driver’s license, I took myself to church every Sunday. One time I even woke myself up because I was singing praise in my sleep. However, I never really felt “at home” or “comfortable” in a church. Even during that highly influenced spiritual time in my life. I “grew spiritually” with books, bible study groups, and “gospel” music–which I totally still listen to… I mean, it’s good stuff.

I gave up on finding a church that I liked–I never felt comfortable anywhere that I tried to go. They always either asked for money, or asked for more money. I wasn’t getting what I needed from it. Fast forward to now… I haven’t touched my Bible in a while. My faith has totally dried up and blown away. I can’t help but be logical–the whole idea of religion makes me irritated. What makes Christianity “the way”? Has it been around the longest? No. Is there concrete evidence of anything in the bible? No. What’s the Bible anyway–some old book that was written by man. It was written by man. It was written by MAN. Why should I live my life by a book written by another person? Confused.

What did that christian camp have to say to me? Well they gathered us open-minded youngsters together and told us to “be homophobic”. What? So no you’re telling me I should accept everyone except gay people. Oh, I have to try and “change” them?! Not buying into that. I didn’t then, and I’m not now.

What else? “Be pro-life”. Yeah, I want to deny people of having a choice. Let’s give the government control of all those decisions instead of letting be a case-by-case kind of thing. Great idea. We should also burn books.

The angles that were used to sell that “embryos are murdered, they have brainwaves when they’re only 30 seconds old” is eerily similar to the angles used to sell me the whole idea of Christianity. Believe what I believe and you’ll be saved from eternal damnation in Hell. Scare me into agreeing with you. Thanks for the threat, but I’m going to go over there and hide from you now.

Christianity feels a lot like Santa Claus does to me. It doesn’t make a lot of sense, but it’s still passed down through the generations.  Speaking of Santa, I went on a couple dates with this guy (Christian) who had a bachelor’s degree in world religion. He told me all kinds of things about where the whole idea of Christmas came from. Let’s just say it had very little to do with a baby prophet.

I could probably write a WHOLE lot more about my feelings on this topic, but this is probably plenty for now. Feel free to take on the challenge of giving me a change of heart!!! I’d rather be in that super happy place that Christianity creates than this confusing dark place, but my brain won’t let me go back. I don’t consider myself an atheist, but I can hardly consider myself a christian either at this point.

Shew! It’s finally off my chest… I am giving myself a homework assignment: find someone to go with me to a church just to see if I can awaken any spiritualness that might still be lingering in me somewhere. No way am I setting foot in there alone.

11 thoughts on “David’s Tea

  1. ~jenniferlynn September 25, 2012 / 11:54 am

    I was born and raised Catholic; my mother works for the church and both of my parents growing up were very involved in all sorts of churchy activities. When my dad died in 2005, I stopped going..
    I think having a Christian background is awesome and I think my parents did a great job raising the four of us kids because we had that strong moral background. BUT.. we were also raised to treat everyone the same, and I am SURE that a lot of my beliefs are not the “Catholic” way of thinking on abortion and gay couples, but the strong healthy moral background sometimes seems to trump the Catholic views.. if that makes sense.

    • fabulousinfayetteville September 25, 2012 / 11:59 am

      That makes sense:) But it still just pretty much tells me that religion is about values and morals. Is it possible to have those without it? Maybe… I definitely think a world without religion would be chaos. Everyone would be freaking out about what’s going to happen after we die or where we came from. Would we all start killing and stealing from each other? Weird thoughts.

      • ~jenniferlynn September 25, 2012 / 12:07 pm

        I agree.. it’s like we have to have some foundation even if we don’t believe all of it.. but it reinforces the good parts.. I’m not usually philosophical but I totally get what you’re saying.

      • fabulousinfayetteville September 25, 2012 / 12:10 pm

        haha, I’m not either! But I’ve been feeling a lot lately like I need to figure out who I am–Something i’ll have to do before I can go around looking to for a relationship or anything.

      • ~jenniferlynn September 25, 2012 / 12:14 pm

        That’s tough.. Of course I grew up expecting to marry a Catholic (I married someone who I’d call borderline Atheist.. then divorced.. very anti-Catholic of me..) and now I’m with an amazing guy who, too, doesn’t really follow any religion. It’s weird.. but I’m okay with it..
        Good luck, girlie.. big grown up decisions 🙂

      • fabulousinfayetteville September 25, 2012 / 12:17 pm

        Thanks! i feel like there are less super religious people out there nowadays anyways, so hopefully whoever he is, he can work with whatever I decide. (er…if he exists.) lol

  2. robfiasco @ run2thehills September 25, 2012 / 1:10 pm

    i’ve seen David’s Tea popping up all over the place. Well, popping up all over Instagram that is. I have a love hate relationship with tea. I need to give it another chance. I love some flavors and absolutely despise others.

    as far as religion….I was born and raised Catholic, went to Catholic school until high school and never missed a Sunday mass until I was 20 or so. I was even an altar boy for a few years.

    i would say i’m spiritual. personally, right now, music is my religion. music is what gets me through the day. music is what I turn to if i’m feeling down or looking for answers. I think religion can be whatever you need it to be.

    as far as homophobic christians….those people creep me out. i’ve been to their “churches” where they have big screen tv’s displaying the words to the song and a full band playing while the people waive their hands back and forth….creepy. back in my day we read from hymals. with an organ. in latin.

    I worked for the 10th largest church in the U.S. and they wouldn’t hire me full-time because I “lived in sin” at the time. hilarious. I walked out immediately after. ugh.

    ok. I could write on this for days….so I hear where you’re coming from and hope you find what you’re looking for!

    • fabulousinfayetteville September 25, 2012 / 1:44 pm

      Give tea a chance 🙂 I am with you on that which is why I purchased their best selling teas and some that just sounded good to me. I’m all about samplers because if I don’t like it, I’d have to have paid for a huge tin of it or something.

      Haha! It’s always something else when you leave church feeling like you must have purchased a ticket to be able to attend a service. And wow, turned you away for living in sin???–that church sounds really judgmental. What’s up with churches judging people? Don’t they preach that that is God’s duty, not mans? Hypocritical… Do they all think of themselves as “non-sinners”? bc I don’t think that exists…

      • lifemeetstheeye September 27, 2012 / 1:14 pm

        Let’s remember that not all big churches are full of homophobes or cast generalized judgements on anyone that enters. (I’d certainly distance myself from such a place, too). They put words on the screen so people can sing along without guessing at the words. And hand waving (or dancing or clapping) is hardly a worship-only activity. It happens at just about any rock concert, any genre. I lead the contemporary band at our church, and we don’t do modern (vs. hymn) music because we want to put on a show or be rock stars (although I’ve visited churches that seem like this). We do it to connect with people. We’re a community and music is a common thread that brings us together, regardless of where we are on any sort of faith journey.

        @fabulousinfayetteville…Nice blog! I’m Kate Sutterfield’s brother-in-law from MN!

  3. jenniechris September 25, 2012 / 5:00 pm

    Mmmm, tea. Another good one is Adagio–I can mail you a coupon! 🙂

    I totally agree with the whole religion thing–mostly, I think it didn’t harm me too much, but it definitely made me feel all guilty about things that I shouldn’t. I actually compare my eating disorder to how I used to approach religion: highs one day, lows the next. At some point, I realized it was too misery-inducing and too contrary to my beliefs, so I quit going. But because I grew up with religion, it’s hard to leave it behind. If you’d like, I’d volunteer to go with you–and there are a few churches that I know of in town that are more open minded. 🙂

    • fabulousinfayetteville September 26, 2012 / 9:04 am

      I got the coupon! YAY! I’m a tea noob, so I’m not sure what to try..but I’ll figure it out 🙂

      I would LOVE to go with you to a church–I’ve been to several around town and I haven’t had any good experiences yet.

Leave a Reply

