Count Reps–Not Calories

This post is going to be paleo-tastic. I warned you. I love cilantro nuggets:
20121004-144303.jpg

Speidini chicken with lots of veggies:20121004-144313.jpg

A big ol’ salad of “whatever’s in the fridge”:
20121004-144350.jpgThose two pretend slim-jims are steve’s paleostix.

Leftover (emergency thawed out meal) spaghetti squash pesto fantastic-ness:

20121004-144400.jpg

 

I also had a big plat of emergency chili, but don’t make butternut squash chili and freeze it because the squashes get pretty gross when you thaw them out. It was soupy and I ended up mostly eating around the squash chunks 😦 Not my favorite meal of the week….

A potpourri of leftovers:20121004-144416.jpgCurry chicken, sweet potato guts (from when I made those blueberry sausage thingies), and some of those gwenyth paltrow brussels sprouts.

And I made that crazy chocolate avocado pudding again:

20121004-144428.jpg

No one ever clicks links on my site, but I link anyways (yup, I totally look at my analytics).

What’s going on in my life?

I back squatted 230lbs. I can’t believe I did that!!! But I inspired BIG PR’s out of all the guys I was lifting with, so it was totally awesome! I wouldn’t have normally jumped from 205 to 225 in a strength workout, but Brad told me to. And I whined about it. And then I sucked it up and did it. So, yeah. Then I added 5 more lbs and got it again. 230. Hurray for that, hurray for paleo, and hurray for my new lifting shoes!

As a skillwork this morning, I did a benchmark wod for the first time: Annie

50-40-30-20-10

Double Unders, Sit-Ups

I threw a hissy over the double unders. I got mad and stomped around and threw my rope about 5 different times. It was ugly. I’m over it, though.

After all of that I went home, took a shower, and went to the “lady-doctor”. It was comical. Let me preface this by saying that I’ve had an IUD for about 4 years, and that I used to have lots of issues with it staying put. The stupid thing expelled whenever it wanted–it was REALLY annoying. I even replaced it once. Didn’t help.

I was all “So… my IUD is staying where it’s supposed to be staying. And it has been staying there for the past two and a half years, which is great. But I haven’t had sex during that time, so I sorta feel like maybe sex is responsible for the fact that it ever expelled in the first place–which really contradicts itself if it’s supposed to be a successful method of birth control.” She told me she would be very surprised if there was any correlation and went into some detail. She also added, “Try it out this weekend and let me know if it stays put!” I wasn’t ready for that at ALL. Me in my weird purple paper checkered gown went,”Whaaaaat?”

I’m not good at jokes. That one was actually pretty funny though. I realized that later as I was telling it to my mom.

DUDE! I’m going to be in New York this time next week!!!

I’m on a three-person co-ed team that qualified to participate in the USARA Nationals Race last fall. It’s in Kerhonkson, NY. I get to stay in a resort and then run around in the woods for ~30 hours with my team–Shaun and Daniel. I keep going over my checklist. I can’t believe it’s only a week away!!! I have gone biking a couple of times to try to get my butt used to the seat, but I’m pretty sure it’s a bit hopeless at this point. I’m just going to work with what I’ve got… I’ve put a grand total of about 20 miles on my bike over the past 2 weeks and most of it was on pavement…. Erm. Whatever.

I hope it’s not freezing cold while we’re there…

Does anyone else out there feel this way about sugar???

It’s really freaking hard to say no.

 

2 thoughts on “Count Reps–Not Calories

  1. JessMess October 8, 2012 / 4:36 pm

    HAHAHAHAhahahaha

  2. robfiasco October 11, 2012 / 11:03 am

    oddly enough i’ve never been on that side of the state. I can tell you though that in Western NY, it’s been up near 50 in the day and down into the 30’s at night. All my friends are complaining about how cold it is. So yeah…good luck with that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

