Squash Season

I miss New York. I forgot to mention this earlier, but one of the most epic things was the fact that there were no bugs at all! Let me be more specific. I spent 30+ hours romping through wilderness (even with a headlamp) and I saw one insect the entire time. He was a fly. Named Ferdinand.

Now that I’m home I feel like all the spiders are here to celebrate Halloween. One even constructed a web inside of a cardboard box in t living room. I threw it out onto the porch, but I hope to go get some of the contents from it. My GORUCK gloves are in there and I kinda need them this weekend.

I’ve been in the mood to cook lately. Here is Pumpkin Cream Chicken Casserole:

20121018-081301.jpg

It’s got spaghetti squash, pumpkin, roasted cauliflower, and diced onions. Super tasty! And It’s going to last me about 6 meals, which is nice.

20121018-081324.jpg

Last night was my first time to cook acorn squash. I think it went pretty well, but it took me a whole hour to make! I had to eat a banana and some deli turkey while I waited for this monster to cook.

20121018-081347.jpg

Chirashi bowl from Meiji.20121018-081433.jpg

I’m not even sure if I am doing GORUCK at this point. I really really want to, but my knee is still recovering from my adventure race. The HOA competition is in two weeks. Gosh, that is freaky-soon! My hip and knee are both murderizing me… these events both mean a lot to me, though. I want do be able to do both of them and to be able to give 110%.

I’m still waiting for pics from USARA so I can post more about the race soon, so stay tuned!!!

2 thoughts on “Squash Season

    • fabulousinfayetteville October 19, 2012 / 11:03 am

      I’m not sure you’ll get very many clients by posting a comment on my blog about food.. but you never know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

