Whole 30 Day 7

OMG! I’ve made it to day 7–no cheats except that I ate a frozen banana. Then I realized that according to the rules, its against the whole30 because I was using it to satisfy my ice cream craving. Fail. It’s going to be a long 30 days.20130108-064356.jpg

I’ve eaten more eggs in the past week than I have in the past two months. And more bacon than EVER. Yes, I’ve started eating bacon again. The kind that costs $14 a pack and comes from local natural-diet fed pigs. What do pics even eat? Grass? Anywho. No hormones, no nitrites, not cured. Good stuff.20130108-064410.jpg

For the whole30 you have to be a label-reading maniac if you’re going to use anything from a package. The ingredients are key–even if someone says it as 0grams of sugar, you still have to check the ingredient list for sugar (or one of its many nicknames).20130108-064416.jpg

One of the harderst things about the whole30 is that you have to prepare ALL of your own meals. You can’t count on restaurants to leave out additives and things like that. It’s pretty exhausting, honestly. I had a hard time with my first few meals. I sliced open a finger while chopping onions with one of my new knives. It went in at an angle so now I have a “gill” on my finger. And every time I do crossfit I rip the dang thing open and blood goes everywhere. It’s super annoying.20130108-064423.jpg

another whole30 mishap occurred when I decided to have some “sea snax”. 20130108-064544.jpg

I was running late for dinner and feeling very hungry, so I pretty much scarfed the whole thing in my car (which is hilarious). By the time I got home, I had a huge swollen place on my top lip. I started to panic and was informed by google that it was some sort of allergic reaction. Awesome. No shellfish, no seaweed. I went from being allergic to nothing to being allergic to 3/4 of the earth.20130108-064428.jpg

I got to go to Tulsa with my sister on Saturday to spend our christmas gift cards, which was super fun! AND we happened upon this new place near lululemon: My Fit Foods.20130108-064442.jpg

They are a Texas company who have preservative-free pre packed little meal boxes with fresh ingredients. Their bottled water is from Arkansas πŸ™‚20130108-064449.jpg

I actually managed to find several whole30 options! I had pork something-something and salmon something.

With bellies full of nutritious goodness, we went to lulu!

20130108-064456.jpgAnd they had the freaking bag I’ve been dying for. A showroom!!! They had ONE bag and it was the colors I wanted. The “take me with you tote”. I HAD to have it! And it was 15% off because of my R&D discount. I can’t wait to load it up with all my crossfit junk πŸ™‚

The next night, Brad came over and we made some nom nom paleo action.

Fiionas Phenomenal green chicken and Asian “fried rice” (It’s cauliflower and coconut aminos).20130108-093116.jpg
Jessica joined us. If every meal was like that, I would whole30 every day.

I went to CrossFit last night. I back squatted 220 (it’s not 230, but I’m slowly getting there. My hip has improved drastically thanks to Dr. B!) and then I overhead squatted and did some bar muscle ups with a band. I tried to get one without a band, and I got kinda close, but it wasn’t happening. I’m just not really strong in that area. Working on it. When I went out to my car a big ol bag of chips was waiting for me on my windshield.

20130108-064505.jpg

I started dying laughing. I figured it was one of “the usual suspects”, but I didn’t see the note on it till I got it home and was able to look at it in the light.

20130108-064510.jpg

I should have known πŸ™‚

Then I made nom nom paleo Madras Chicken Salad. If you want all these recipes then you should get her ipad app. It’s super awesome.

My ipad doubles (quadruples?) as a tv, a cookbook, a computer, and a game console.20130108-064516.jpg

This chicken salad was a lot of work. I had to make the mayo (with Brad’s help), and toast the almonds myself. It turned out to be worth it though πŸ™‚ I used “Macha” curry instead of “Madras”. I don’t really know the difference, but it was delicious…
20130108-064521.jpg

I want to mention that I don’t feel any different at all. I guess I’m only 7 days in, but I really feel just the same as I always do. Except that I feel chocolate-deprived. No food nightmares yet, just a happy dream about cake once. For me, the sugar detox was much more intense than the whol30. Maybe I should do it next 😦

8 thoughts on “Whole 30 Day 7

  1. ~jenniferlynn January 8, 2013 / 10:38 am

    Congrats so far!! πŸ™‚ I became so obsessed with reading labels on Whole30, it was crazy. Basically, it came down to if it’s in a package; it’s out.
    Is that wine in the background in one pic? with a wandering corkscrew? hmm..?

    All your food looks super yum, as always. Only three more weeks to go!

    • fabulousinfayetteville January 8, 2013 / 2:56 pm

      Yes VERY few packaged things are “okay” for whole30. I feel like the only difference is that i am cooking EVERY SINGLE THING that i put in my mouth. Which is getting old! lol Any tips???

      • ~jenniferlynn January 8, 2013 / 3:42 pm

        Meal plan and prep.. that’s all I got :\
        Eat the same thing everyday for breakfast and lunch, then you only need to get creative with dinner lol.
        Maybe find a good crockpot recipe for something you can make a big batch and freeze to have portions later?

      • fabulousinfayetteville January 9, 2013 / 8:56 am

        i’m a big leftover freak πŸ™‚ i have too much food that is about to go bad right now so I am planning on eating them for breakfast…ew chicken breast for breakfast… lol, oh well!

  2. Holly January 8, 2013 / 2:48 pm

    Tell me more about this R&D discount at Lulu?!

    • fabulousinfayetteville January 8, 2013 / 2:52 pm

      If you are a trainer or an instructor at a gym then you can fill out a form with all the info and use it to get a discount. You can only get the form OR the discount at a lululemon store. Sadly, I can’t use it online 😦

Leave a Reply

