Snatchapalooza

Zach makes cool art.20130228-163652.jpg

So today I got to be in the Lady Lifter Spotlight on Jennifer’s blog Wine to Weightlifting!

What a super honor! I posted it to my Facebook and my friends all went crazy. I got a bazillion likes and even some shares πŸ™‚ TOTALLY made my day. I feel very elite. I pretty much feel like I just got plastered onto a billboard or something. YAY to that! What a cool idea. I don’t have any type of “regular” posts like that on my blog. I should try and think of one. Could be a cool way to get traffic and be more entertaining. Like how Joyce has her Sunday Funday posts on My Superficial Endeavors. I should probably buy a domain first. And maybe do something on my blog besides use it as a diary! Haha! I may be inspired enough to turn over a new leaf. We will see….

I can’t write a post without showing a PaleOMG recipe:
20130228-163701.jpg

That is her Sausage Spaghetti Squash Bake.

So I’ve been super sick ever since last Friday. I’ve been blowing bright yellow snot, hacking, coughing, wheezing and hanging out with swollen tonsils nonstop. I finally broke down and went to the doctor today. Guess what?! It was ALLERGIES. He said that cedar pollen is very prevalent right now. Cedar trees? What kind of a plant wants to make sexytime when the high is in the 30’s!? Stupid cedars. Why am I allergic to such weird things? Whatever.

Let’s talk crossfit.

I PR’ed my snatch! We had “snatchapalooza” at Crossfit yesterday. I have only every been able to snatch 115#, which I always did as a power snatch. A few weeks ago we were finding a max and I was told by Easton “Hey if you could squat snatch that, you’d get about 30 more pounds!” Squat snatch?! YIKES! I had never done that before. I worked at trying to get more comfortable with the drop for a while and slowly added Β weight. I finally got all the way to 125! It took me several attempts, but I finally pulled it off πŸ™‚

Here’s one of my earlier pulls, I think that is about 105lbs on the bar:

I’m only 20 lbs away from being “elite”! Haha!

20130228-163646.jpg

Now that I’ve clean and jerked 180 and squatted 255, I am slowly checking those bad boys off my list!

Granted, I definitely have a lot more size than those girls. I am 5’8” and we don’t discuss my weight. lol

Β I don’t care. Progress is progress.

I wish I was Zach’s cat. At least for a day.

20130228-163721.jpg

Off for some hot yoga!!! Toodles! πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “Snatchapalooza

  1. Melissa Love February 28, 2013 / 9:42 pm

    Your snatch update is super impressive — I just got 80# this week and was stoked. Got under #85 but couldn’t get up. BOO haha Looking forward to following along — found you from Lifter Spotlight πŸ™‚

    • fabulousinfayetteville March 1, 2013 / 12:24 am

      Yay! Awesome, thanks!!! Snatches are a complicated movement! Especially when you get under it in a full squat–not many people can get that balance. I’m still really not there yet, I think I just got lucky πŸ˜‰

  2. Bethany Lee March 1, 2013 / 6:55 am

    and you do hot yoga too! Just read about you on Jennifer’s blog. So awesome (and I love hot yoga). I so admire any woman who can lift more than 100 lbs as I’m not even close. But . . . I didn’t start that long ago so, maybe still someday. πŸ™‚ Love your blog. Yeah . . .it would be cool to do a “regular” series. It takes a lot more commitment though, than just writing whatever.

    • fabulousinfayetteville March 1, 2013 / 8:37 am

      You will progress faster than you think–just stick with it πŸ˜‰ I am a newbie to hot yoga (that was only my third class) but I’m making it a weekly routine. This morning my chiropractor/ART therapist told me I should definitely keep doing it because I was really relaxed and he was relatively able to pop everything that needed adjusted. YAY

  3. ~jenniferlynn March 1, 2013 / 8:04 am

    WordPress has a summary of where all the traffic comes to the site, and my Facebook traffic blew up last night.. whoo!!! You’re famous!! πŸ™‚

    Thanks for sharing my page.. you’re a super inspiration!! πŸ™‚

    And you’re snatchtastic!!!

    • fabulousinfayetteville March 1, 2013 / 8:38 am

      YAY! That is the bomb dot com! I was definitely overwhelmed by the response I got–my blog got a lot mot hits yesterday than usual, too πŸ™‚ Very very cool, and thanks again for featuring me on the spotlight!!!

      • ~jenniferlynn March 1, 2013 / 8:39 am

        No problem chica.. you rock!! πŸ™‚

        And a couple ladies left you comments if you want to visit the post and reply πŸ™‚

        I usually tweet it multiple times in the week, so hope you don’t mind if I spam your twitterfeed πŸ™‚

  4. njpaleo March 1, 2013 / 8:55 am

    Wow, you really rocked that snatch! You go! Now that I’ve seen you “Lady Lifter Spotlight” I’m inspired to follow your blog πŸ™‚ That dinner looks good too…..

Leave a Reply

