13.1

And no, I’m not talking about a half marathon (you certainly won’t see me blogging about that kind of run distance any time soon!). I’m talking about the 2013 Crossfit Games Open workout #1! I had a dream the night before that it was the snatch Games Open workout from last year–which partially came true! They basically married that workout with the 7 minutes of burpees workout and gave it a time cap of 17 minutes:

17 minute AMRAP of:
40 Burpees
30 Snatch, 75 / 45 lbs
30 Burpees
30 Snatch, 135 / 75 lbs
20 Burpees
30 Snatch, 165 / 100 lbs
10 burpees
Max rep Snatch, 210 / 120 lbs

20130307-083951.jpg

I thought that the guys weights were skewed to be exponentially heavier than the ladies weights, which was kind of annoying. None of our guys made it as far as our ladies. I don’t know why they do it like that… doesn’t seem fair, but I guess it’s not like we’re competing against each other. It just makes it come down to the burpees more for the ladies and the strength more for the guys.

I’m not really that happy with my score. I managed to make it to the 100# snatches but with about 20 seconds left–I managed to change my weights and pull it twice, which gave me a final score of 152. I really really really don’t want to do it again, but I hate leaving the workout knowing that I probably could have done better. I babied myself through the 75lb snatches because I was worried about my back seizing up. We had done running and snatches the day before and I had to stop before the workout was over because my back was so locked up. There is nothing more frustrating than having to stop because of injury and not because of lungs… (I’m battling tree pollen allergies right now, so it’s not like my lungs are even that fabulous, though.) I really should just step back and take this years’ open as a learning experience and try not to worry so much about submitting tippity top scores.

Enough about that. Time to think happy thoughts.

20130307-083703.jpg

Here are some rutabaga egg nests that I made from PaleOMG:

20130307-083657.jpg

I have gotten to where I will make these during my lunch break because I have nothing else in my fridge but eggs and a rutabaga. Ha. That definitely happened yesterday.

Brad made short ribs again. With spice market kale and sweet potato fries.

20130307-083712.jpg

We polished that off with Well Fed peach crisp recipe (only I used berries instead) :

20130307-091729.jpg

We got to go on a fancy-pants dinner date on Tuesday night. It was ridiculous delicious. So delicious that I forgot to take pictures of anything except the apple dumplings we had for dessert:20130307-083944.jpgBut there was also really good wine and salad. I had salmon with gnocci. He had roasted chicken with spinach and potatoes. I think it has been at least a year since I’ve eaten like that. It was awesomesauce. Brad and his genius ideas…lol. He left this morning and is in NYC for vacation this weekend and won’t be back until Sunday night. I’m gonna miss him.

Ew, great. I’m one of “those” people now. What a hypocrite 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “13.1

  1. M. Love March 7, 2013 / 3:43 pm

    We do our 13.1 tomorrow and I’m scared out of my mind. I just got my 80# snatch last week — there is NO way I’m going to not die out haha 🙂 I’m just going to do my best and see what happens 🙂

    • fabulousinfayetteville March 7, 2013 / 3:47 pm

      my best advice: pace yourself. It will be hard because you will be excited, but don’t get too crazy with the burpees. You will breeze through the 45lb snatches, but once you get to the 75 just do it/drop it/ pick it up/ do it! Don’t waste time walking away and thinking about it 🙂 i think you can get through all of the 75lbs if you just take your time and pace yourself. Good Luck!!!!

      • fabulousinfayetteville March 7, 2013 / 3:49 pm

        And don’t go right into the first snatch. take the time to get yourself mentally prepared so you’re not wasting energy on failed attempts 🙂

  2. njpaleo March 8, 2013 / 6:52 pm

    That workout just scares me….I guess it’s best to just do it and not think about it. Your food photos are making me hungry!

    • fabulousinfayetteville March 8, 2013 / 7:37 pm

      I just ended up doing it again! Be slow and steady on the burpees–It helped me a LOT!

    • fabulousinfayetteville March 11, 2013 / 9:21 am

      😉 it IS super intimidating! I’m hoping this isn’t going to be the norm for the 2013 open! Eeek!

Leave a Reply

